How to delete your Facebook account on an iPhone using the Facebook mobile app

Facebook app on iPhone

  • If you wish to delete your Facebook account on an iPhone, you can do so easily via the Facebook mobile app, though the company makes it a multi-step process.
  • You can also deactivate your account, making it functionally expunged from the web, and be able to resuscitate it later if you choose.
  • Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.

If you’re wasting too much time on Facebook or you’re tired of getting notifications on your iPhone, or both, just delete the Facebook app off your phone. 

It couldn’t be any easier to do so, you just swipe to the screen with the Facebook logo, hold a finger down on the app until it starts wiggling, tap the little “X” at the corner of the app (or tap “Rearrange apps” and then the “X” if you’re running iOS 13), then hit “Delete” on the popup window to confirm the move.

How to delete Facebook on iPhone

However, if you are done with Facebook altogether, including the mobile app and full site on your computer, you can rather quickly delete your Facebook account using the mobile app. 

Here’s how, in quite a few steps, which can change from time to time with updates. 

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

iPhone 11 (From $699.99 at Best Buy)

How to delete your Facebook account on an iPhone using the Facebook mobile app

1. Launch the Facebook app on your phone and then tap the three parallel lines at the bottom right corner.

2. Tap “Settings & Privacy” at the bottom of the list, and then “Settings.”

How to delete Facebook on iPhone

3. Scroll down and tap “Account Ownership and Control.”

How to delete Facebook on iPhone

4. Tap “Deactivation and Deletion.”

5. Select “Delete Account” by tapping the dot beside that option, then hit the blue “Continue to Account Deletion” button.

How to delete Facebook on iPhone

6. Scroll down and tap “Delete Account” and then confirm the deletion with your password, then one more tap.

How to delete Facebook on iPhone

And don’t worry, if you change your mind within 30 days, you can simply log into your Facebook account to stop it from being forever purged from the internet.

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

  • ‘Does Snapchat notify users when you take screenshots?’: Here’s what you need to know

  • ‘Why won’t my iPhone update to iOS 13?’: How to troubleshoot iPhone updating issues in 4 ways

  • How to download apps on an iPhone for free in the App Store, where you can browse the top free apps

  • How to enable in-app purchases on your iPhone, to buy upgrades and other features in your favorite apps and games

SEE ALSO: The best iPhone for every type of person and budget

Join the conversation about this story »

NOW WATCH: How to take full advantage of the iPhone’s new dark mode