31 CBI officials, 2 IPS officers on list of medals awarded on Independence Day

NEW DELHI: The officers involved in the probe of Agusta Helicopter scam besides those securing successful prosecution of former Haryana Chief Minister Om Prakash Chautala are among 31 CBI officers who have been awarded President’s Police Medal and Police Medal on Independence Day. Only two IPS officers figure in the list of awards announced on Sunday.

Ashwani Kumar Chand, an IPS officer of 2000 batch from Sikkim cadre, who is part of Special Investigation Team of CBI probing cases like Agusta Westland Helicopter scam and Vijay Mallya cheating cases has been awarded Police Medal for Meritorious Service.

Another IPS officer Navjyoti Gogoi, also a 2000 batch IPS officer from Rajasthan cadre who is posted as DIG, Guwahati in CBI, has been given Police Medal for Meritorious Service.

Atul Hajela, DSP in Anti-Corruption Branch of the agency, who is involved in the probe againstthe Principal Secretary to Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Rajendra Kumar, has been honoured with Police Medal of Meritorious Service.

Harish Chandra Sharma, presently handling corruption cases as SP, Jodhpur in CBI, who had probed the scam in the appointment of unior Basic Trained (JBT) teachers in which Chautala was convicted, has been given President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service.

Vijay Kumar Shukla, presently DSP in Special Crime Unit of the agency, who probed Badaun suicide case, has also been given President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service.

Ramesh Chand, the Head Constable who has worked in the Head Qaurters and Information Section of the agency, has also been given Police Medal for Meritorious Service. Chand hails from Palampur, Himachal Pradesh.

The officer who probed corruption case involving the then Chief Engineer of Noida Yadav Singh, Sanjay Kumar Dhall, posted as DSP, STF of CBI, has been awarded Police Medal for Meritorious Service.

Besides Shukla and Sharma, the officers who have been given the coveted President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service include S Balasubramony, Additional SP, Krishnaswamy Kumaresan, Inspector, Rawel Singh, ASI and Samiar Kumar Karmakar, Constable.

The other officials of CBI who have been accorded with Police Medal for Meritorious Service inclue Additional SP Subhash Ramrup Singh, DSPs Nagesh Murlidhar Parab, Neeraj Agarwal, Surender Singh, Loverson Kuruvila, Maharshi Ray Hajong, Inspectors Arvind Dadaji More, Tej Prakash Devrani Sanjay Sharma, Subhash Chander and T Rajashekara.

The other personnel are Additional SI Geeta Paul, Head Constables Nimai Chandra Mondal, Aikodan Balakrishnan, Goutam Chandra Das, Kuljeet Singh, Constables Sandeep Kumar Sharma, Satnarain, Bani Singh, and Steno Grade II Devashish Bose.