Another Punjab BJP leader held in drug-trafficking case

Ferozepur,Anirudh Gupta : The BJP, which has been hitherto confronting its coalition partner and long-term ally—the SAD — on terror links and drugs, seems to have been caught on the wrong foot with its several leaders getting booked in similar cases over the past sometime.

Another Punjab BJP leader held in drug-trafficking case

Punjab BJP president Kamal Sharma (L) with Jarnail Singh. File photo

In the latest development, BJP (Rural) Minority Morcha district president Jarnail Singh (alias Judge Nimana) of Sodhinagar in Ferozepur was arrested by the Rajasthan Police for drug trafficking, along with his three accomplices.

Nimbahera Sadar police station SHO Ram Bilas said Jarnail Singh, Sukhwinder Singh, Sadhuram and Pargat, all residents of Ferozepur, had been arrested under Sections 15, 18, 61 and 85 of the NDPS Act. Around 190 kg poppy husk and 3 kg opium were seized from their possession, he said. The contrabands were reportedly brought from Madhya Pradesh.

Khamesara Superintendent of Police (Chittorgarh) Prasanna Kumar confirmed the arrests. The accused had been remanded in three-day police custody. “The SUV that they were travelling in had a fake registration number plate,” the SP said.

Earlier, Ferozepur BJP district president Jugraj Singh Katora, Ferozepur Yuva Morcha district president Jagpal Singh Sandhu (alias Jimmy), Mallanwala block president Gurcharan Singh and OSD to state BJP chief Kamal Sharma Amrinder Singh Chinna (alias Pothi) were booked on charges of accepting bribe to help persons accused in drugs and fake arms licences cases.

On June 29, the Rajasthan Police arrested two senior leaders of the SAD-BJP alliance with 7.5 kg poppy husk at Pallu sub-tehsil in Hanumangarh district. The erring leaders were identified as Asafwala (Fazilka) block samiti member Vijay Kumar Kamboj (alias Daddi) and SAD block president (rural) Mahal Singh Rana. Both of them were booked under the NDPS Act. Their supporters Lekhram, Balbir Singh and Ved Parkash, all from Fazlika—the constituency represented by State Health Minister Surjit Kumar Jayani—were also booked.