Massive govt rejig sees 16 bureaucratic changes effected by Appointments Committee of Cabinet

New Delhi(PTI): In a major top-level bureaucratic shakeup, Shaktikanta Das was today named new Economic Affairs Secretary, and will be replaced by Gujarat cadre IAS officer Hasmukh Adhia in Department of Revenue, while former Air India chief Sunil Arora will become I&B Secretary.

As many as 16 appointments were approved by the Appointments Committee of Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and includes 15 RPT, 15 new Secretaries and one for the position of National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) Chairman, a coveted post that has gone to Madhya Pradesh cadre IAS officer of 1982 batch Raghav Chandra.

As per the order issued by the Department of Personnel and Training, Air India’s current Chairman and Managing Director Rohit Nandan will replace Arora as Secretary in the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

Deputy Election Commissioner Vinod Zutshi has been appointed as new Tourism Secretary.

Das, 1980 batch IAS officer of Tamil Nadu cadre, will replace Rajiv Mehrishi as Economic Affairs Secretary upon his superannuation on August 31. Financial Services Secretary Hasmukh Adhia, an IAS officer of Gujarat cadre, will replace Das as Revenue Secretary.

Tapan Ray, another Gujarat cadre IAS officer, will become Corporate Affairs Secretary in place of Anjuly Chib Duggal, who will replace Adhia in the Department of Financial Services. The changes in Finance Ministry comes months ahead of the Union Budget and also at a time when a one-time compliance window is open as part of the new black money law.

Arora, currently Secretary in Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, will replace Bimal Julka as Secretary in the Information and Broadcasting Ministry on his superannuation on Monday.

The appointment of Arora, a 1980-batch IAS officer of Rajasthan cadre, comes at a time when the I&B ministry is in the midst of several important activities including the e-auctions of Phase III FM radio stations and Phase III and IV of Digitisation.

The I&B ministry has also been under fire over the two-month-old impasse at the Film and Television Institute of India (FTII) where students are demanding removal of Gajendra Chauhan as its chairman.

Earlier, Arora has functioned as the CMD of Air India.

Ray, currently Additional Secretary in Department of Electronics and Information Technology (DeITY), will join the Corporate Affairs Ministry at a time when the government has identified ease of doing business as a key focus area and the new Companies Act is going through a number of changes to make it easier for the companies to do business in the country.

J S Deepak and Vijay Shankar Madan will be new secretaries of DeiTY and Department of Land Resources. Madan is currently Director General and Mission Director in Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI), while Deepak is Additional Secretary in the Commerce Ministry.

Besides, Sports Secretary Ajit M Sharan has been appointed as Ayush Secretary. Rajiv Yadav, a 1981 batch IAS officer of Assam Meghalaya cadre, will be the new Sports Secretary. He is presently Special Secretary and Financial Adviser in Chemicals and fertilizers Secretary.

Raghav Chandra has been appointed as new Chairman of National highways Authority of India (NHAI). Chandra, a 1982 batch IAS officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre, is Additional Secretary in Department of Agriculture, Cooperation and Farmers Welfare.

Sanjay Kumar Srivastava, Secretary Official Language in Home Ministry, has been appointed as Secretary, Coordination and Public grievances in Cabinet Secretariat. He has been replaced by Girish Shankar, Additional Secretary in Tourism Ministry.

Pravir Kumar, Director General of Foreign trade, will be new Secretary in Inter State Council Secretariat.

Amarendra Sinha has been appointed as Secretary, National Commission of Minorities in place of Rajiv Takru, who retires next month-end. Takru earlier served as the Financial Services Secretary. In NHAI, Chandra will replace R P Singh.

New SecretariesDepartment
Shantikanta DasEconomic Affairs Secretary
Sunil AroraInformation & Broadcast Secretary
Raghav ChandraNHAI Chairman
Rohit NandanSecretary, Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
Vinod ZutshiTourism Secretary
Hasmukh AdhiaRevenue Secretary
Tapan RayCorporate Affairs Secretary
Anjuly Chib DuggalSecretary, Finance Ministry
J S DeepakSecretary, Department of Electronics and Information Technology
Vijay Shankar MadanSecretary, Department of Land Resources
Ajit M SharanAyush Secretary
Rajiv YadavSports Secretary
Sanjay Kumar ShrivastavaSecretary, Coordination and Public Grievances in Cabinet Secretariat
Girish ShankarSecretary Official Language in Home Ministry
Pravir KumarSecretary, Inter State Council Secretariat
Amarendra SinhaSecretary, National Commission of Minorities