Bihar Polls:JDU, RJD to contest on 100 seats each, Congress on 40 seats, announces Nitish

New Delhi: JD-U and RJD will contest on 100 seats each while the Congress will fight on 40 seats in the 243-member Assembly, announced Nitish Kumar on Wednesday.

He said that the parties would hold a Swabhiman Rally in Patna’s Gandhi Maidan on August 30.

The seat-sharing talks among the RJD, JDU and Congress for the Assembly elections appeared to be a test of nerves and finally came out with an amicable conclusion.

The JDU has, at present, 111 MLAs in its kitty and the party had contested 141 seats in the 2010 Assembly polls. The RJD has 24 MLAs and the Congress has five, at present.

Lalu and Nitish had been maintaining that seat sharing was not an issue in the alliance.

Lalu said they had joined hands to defeat the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. “We will reply to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s remark about the DNA of Nitish Kumar at our joint rally in Patna,” the former chief minister said.

“Modi has insulted Bihar and Biharis will take revenge,” Lalu said in his inimitable style, adding that they would “send the BJP and RSS back to Nagpur”.

Earlier, both leaders addressed a joint press conference in Delhi in April 2015 along with other leaders of the Janata Parivar.

Last year, Lalu Prasad and Nitish Kumar came together at an election rally for the first time in two decades.

(Agency inputs)