Congress to protest against suspension of its 25 MPs in Parliament premises

Confrontation between government and opposition is set to escalate with Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan suspending 25 Congress members for five days for “persistently, wilfully obstructing” the House”.

Congress MPs protest against suspension

The Congress party will on Monday stage a protest at the Gandhi statue in the Parliament premises. AAP leader Bhagwant Mann had also stated that his party’s MPs will not attend the Parliament in solidarity with the suspended Congress lawmakers.

The move came after the government approached the Speaker slamming the Opposition for obstructing the House for the past several days. Such a major action is the first in the current Lok Sabha.

BJP Parliamentary party meeting underway.

The suspended members included B N Chandrappa, Santok Singh Chaudhary, A H K Choudhury, Sushmita Dev, Ninog Ering, R Dhruvanarayana, Gaurav Gogoi, G Sukender Reddy, Deepender Hooda, S Kodikunnil, S P Muddahanumegowda, Abhijit Mukherjee, Mullappally Ramachandran, K H Munniyappa, B V Nayak, Vincent Pala, M K Raghavan, Ranjeet Ranjan, C L Ruala, T Sahu, Rajee Satav, Ravneet Singh K Suresh, K C Venugopal and T Meinya.

Latest Updates:

10:13 IST Tuesday, 4 August 2015

TMC to not participate in Congress’ protest in Parliament premises today: Sudip Bandyopadhyay (TMC)

10:12 IST Tuesday, 4 August 2015



JD (U) to boycott Lok Sabha over Congress MPs suspension

Terming the suspension of Congress MPs as a black day for Indian democracy, the Janata Dal (United) has vowed to obstruct the Rajya Sabha and boycott the Lok Sabha.

“A black day for democracy, we stand with the Congress, we’ll obstruct the Rajya Sabha and boycott the Lok Sabha,” JD(U) spokesperson KC Tyagi said.

Also read: Sonia Gandhi blames government for Parliament deadlock

10:14 IST Tuesday, 4 August 2015

BJP Parliamentary party meeting underway

BJP Parliamentary party to discuss stalemate in Parliament, pending important bills and talks between Centre & NSCN.

Also read: Sonia Gandhi questions PM Modi’s silence over BJP scandals; insists on resignations of Swaraj, Chouhan and Raje


The Speaker ‘named’ (identifying for action) the 25 Congress members who were carrying placards and shouting slogans in the Well while pressing for resignation of External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje over Lalit Modi row and Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan over Vyapam scam.

While taking the tough action under Rule 374(A), she said the members were being suspended for “persistently, wilfully obstructing the House”. She ruled that the ‘named’ members will not attend five sittings of the House. Congress has 44 members in all. Mahajan adjourned the House immediately after. However, a number of the Congress members staged a sit-in in the House.