Home / Regional / Sitting MLA Mathew T Thomas to contest in Kottayam

Sitting MLA Mathew T Thomas to contest in Kottayam

Kottayam,15 March, Sreeparvathy K.: Former Transport Minister and sitting MLA Mathew T Thomas is to contest the election from Kottyam as Janatha Dal (S)-LDF candidate. The decision was taken by HD Deve Gowda taking a note on his potential and activities as MLA and Minister. He will face tough competition from Kerala Congress’ sitting MP Jose K Mani.

Sitting MLA Mathew T Thomas to contest in Kottayam

candidateMathew T Thomas was unwilling to compete in the Lok Sabha election as he is the sitting MLA from Thiruvalla, but was convinced to be in the race by the central leadership of the party. Janatha Dal (S) national leadership had considered three leaders for seat upon the list provided by Jose Thettayil, CK Nanu, Mathew T Thomas, Neelalohitha Dasan Nadar, NM Joseph, Kayikkara Shamsudheen, PK Gopi and K Krishnankutty.

LDF had earlier announced PK Harikumar as the candidate in Kottayam and later was forced to give the candidature to Janatha Dal fearing the party will leave the front as RSP did.

Check Also

80 Arrested In Udaipur For Supporting Killer Shambhu Lal Who Killed Daily Wager In Video

JAIPUR: Prohibitory orders preventing the gathering of large groups are still in force in Rajasthan’s …

Trinamool Congress’ core meet today: Panchayat polls, BJP on Mamata Banerjee’s agenda

KOLKATA: After touring three districts, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee would return to Kolkata …