Delhi Polls: Kiran Bedi says she will take responsibility for defeat

NEW DELHI(PTI): With trends clearly showing a clean sweep by Aam Aadmi Party, BJP’s chief ministerial nominee Kiran Bedi said she will take full responsibility for the defeat.

Bedi, who was trailing in the Krishna Nagar seat, said in it was a match with AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal and only one person emerges victorious in a match. “We both are competing, we both are playing a match. When we play we just play, only one person wins,” she told reporters at her residence.

Bedi dismissed the view that the Delhi poll results are a referendum on the Narendra Modi government. “If the party wins it will be a collective victory, if it loses it is individual, I will take full responsibility. Even during my policing days if their was a failure, responsibility was mine,” she said.

The AAP was leading in 51 seats while BJP was ahead only in 14 seats. The trends were available for 67 seats out of 70 seats.

BJP had won 31 seats in the last assembly polls.

Bedi was made Chief Ministerial candidate for the party just three weeks ahead of the elections.

BJP will win Delhi polls with ‘biggest margin’ ever, says leader Jagdish Mukhi

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Jagdish Mukhi on Tuesday said that his party would win the Delhi Assembly polls with the biggest margin ever and form the government in the national capital.

“We will win with the biggest margin ever, we will cross the 35 number and form the government……..we have fought unitedly….,” he told ANI here.

According to reports, the AAP is leading in 29 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is ahead in 12 seats. The Congress is leading in just five seats.

Five out of seven exit polls have predicted that the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP may return to power once again in the national capital, with the second place for the BJP. The Congress, which ruled Delhi for 15 years, has been placed at a distant third.

Counting of votes has begun for the Delhi Assembly elections. It is being carried out at 14 centres across the city amidst tight security.

The counting started at 8 a.m. and all results are expected to be out by afternoon.

The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for the counting of votes. Counting is taking place at 14 centres in nine districts of the national capital.

A three-tier security has been put in place at all the 14 counting centres.

A voter turnout of 67.08 percent was recorded in the polling for the 70-member Delhi Assembly. A total of 673 candidates are in the fray this time.