Raghubar Das to take oath as Jharkhand Chief Minister tomorrow

Ranchi(PTI): Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Raghubar Das has been scheduled to take over as the Chief Minister of Jharkhand on Sunday.

The oath-taking ceremony will take place at the Morhabadi ground in Ranchi at 11 a.m. which is likely to be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, among other dignitaries. Das will be the first non-tribal to take over the top post in the state.

Earlier on Friday, Das along with AJSU President Sudesh Mahto, senior BJP leader Arjun Munda and Trivendra Singh Rawat met the Governor to stake claim of forming a new government in the state.

“A delegation of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) met Governor Syed Ahmed and requested him for the swearing-in on December 28, which was accepted by him…,” Das told mediapersons after his meeting with the Governor.

BJP observers JP Nadda and Vinay Sahasrabuddhe on Friday oversaw the decision to elect Das as the next Chief Minister of Jharkhand.

In the recently concluded elections in the state the BJP and its ally the All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) achieved majority, bagging 42 seats in the 81-member assembly.