India’s Ravi Sundaram named in ICC’s list of umpires for 2015 World Cup

Indian umpire Ravi Sundaram has been named in the International Cricket Council (ICC)’s list of umpires for the World Cup as the board named four tournament winners in a 25-member match officials’ team to set the ball rolling with 73 days to go for the mega event next year.

India’s Ravi Sundaram named in ICC’s list of umpires for 2015 World Cup

Australia and New Zealand co-host the ICC Cricket World Cup from February 14 which ends with the final in Melbourne on March 29.

A total of 49 matches would be played across 14 venues, seven in New Zealand -Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Napier, Nelson and Wellington- and seven in Australia-Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney- the report added.

The five match referees; Australia’s David Boon, England’s Chris Broad, New Zealand’s Jeff Crowe and Sri Lanka’s Ranjan Madugalle and Roshan Mahanama, are from the elite panel.

The elite panel umpires are: Aleem Dar from Pakistan, Billy Bowden from New Zealand, Bruce Oxenford from Australia, Ian Gould from England, Kumar Dharmasena from Sri Lanka, Marais Erasmus from South Africa, Nigel Llong from England, Paul Reiffel from Australia, Richard Illingworth from England, Richard Kettleborough from England, Rod Tucker and Steve Davis both from Australia.

Eight umpires from the international panel would also officiate matches and they are: South Africa’s Johan Cloete, Australia’s Simon Fry, New Zealand’s Chris Gaffaney, England’s Michael Gough, Sri Lanka’s Ranmore Martinesz and Ruchira Palliyaguru, India’s Ravi Sundaram and West Indies’ Joel Wilson.

The World Cup winners in the line-up are Boon (1987), Dharmasena, Mahanama (1996) and Reiffel (1999).

The umpires were chosen by the selection panel comprising of ICC’s general manager of cricket Geoff Allardice, ICC’s chief match referee Ranjan Madugalle, former player, coach, umpire and now television commentator David Lloyd and former elite panel umpire Srinivas Venkataraghavan.

The ICC said that specific match appointments would be announced in February after the warm-up matches.