LIVE: Haryana Assembly Election Results 2014 – BJP now has clear majority, Congress trounced

In Haryana, the fate of the Bhupinder Singh Hooda-led Congress government, which is aiming at a third successive term, and BJP, which is eyeing to form a government on its own, would be known on Sunday.

People show their I- Cards as they stand in a queue to cast their votes at a polling station for Lok Sabha elections in Chandigarh. (Source: PTI)

BJP CLEARLY AHEAD: The early trends of counting in Haryana polls have given a clear edge to Bharatiya Janata Party indicating that the party is all set to get an absolute majority.

Here are the LIVE updates:

# BJP candidates leading in Kalka, Panchkula, Naraingarh, Ambala Cantt, Thanesar, Radaur with margins over 9K votes

# At 9:50 AM, the BJP was leading in 51 seats.

# The counting for 90 assembly seats in Haryana began this morning at 8 am. Right from the beginning BJP maintained a lead on 53 seats, followed by INLD on 18.

# Congress candidates including Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Karan Singh Dalal, Kuldeep Sharma maintained the lead in the first round.

# BJP’s Anil Vij, Ram Bilas Sharma, Capt Abhimanyu also maintained lead in the first round from their respective constituencies.

# INLD’s Dushyant Chautala, Naina Singh, Ashok Arora also maintained lead in the first round from their constituencies.

Chandigarh Reports:

– Early trends in Haryana indicates that the winning margins may be very thin on various constituencies, even as the BJP    seems headed for a majority.

– In 2009 assembly polls, eight constituencies faced tight contests with victory margins of under 1,000 votes each. This time at leaast 10 seats seem headed for tight finishes.

Congress and INLD started with a lead of 3 and 4 seats respectively.

# BJP leading in Haryana by 44 seats.

Haryana recorded its highest-ever turnout of 76.54 per cent while Maharashtra recorded 63.13 per cent polling.

Exit polls have projected that the BJP will emerge as the largest party in Haryana stopping short of majority.