Home / Tech / 'What happens when you block someone on Gmail?': Here's what you need to know

'What happens when you block someone on Gmail?': Here's what you need to know

gmail

  • When you block someone on Gmail, emails from that specific person are automatically sorted into your spam folder.
  • You can easily block a sender on Gmail by going into the “More” section within an email.
  • Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.

When you block someone’s emails on Gmail, you’ll no longer see their emails in your inbox. Instead, their emails will automatically be routed to your spam folder. 

If there’s someone you don’t wish to receive emails from, you can easily block the specific sender on Gmail on either desktop or mobile. 

Here’s how to do it. 

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

iPhone 11 (From $699.99 at Apple)

Samsung Galaxy s10 (From $859.99 at Walmart)

Apple Macbook Pro (From $1,299.00 at Apple)

Lenovo IdeaPad 130 (From $469.99 at Walmart)

How to block someone on Gmail on a computer

1. Go to gmail.com and log into your account, if needed.

2. Open a message from the sender you wish to block.

3. Click the three stacked dots in the top right corner. 

What_happens_when_you_block_someone_on_Gmail_ _1

4. Select “Block [sender].”

What_happens_when_you_block_someone_on_Gmail_ _2

5. Click “Block” in the pop-up to confirm your decision.

What happens when you block someone on Gmail 3

A greyed-out confirmation, as well as the option to undo your action, will then appear above the email. You can also go back using the same basic steps to unblock users. 

How to block someone on Gmail on a mobile device

Whether you have an iPhone or an Android, the process to block someone is the same. 

1. Open the Gmail app and log in, if needed.

2. Go into a message from the offending account.

3. Tap the second-highest set of three dots, located on the right side of the screen.

What_happens_when_you_block_someone_on_Gmail_ _4

4. Select “Block [sender].”

You’ll then see a confirmation appear above the email stating that you’ve blocked the user, with the option to undo the action.

 

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

  • How to create folders in Gmail by using labels to organize your emails

  • How to find archived emails in Gmail in 2 simple ways on Mac or PC

  • How to add labels in Gmail to categorize your email communications

  • How to delete your Gmail account without losing any of your data

  • How to change your Gmail display name without changing your email address

SEE ALSO: The best Apple MacBook laptops

Join the conversation about this story »

NOW WATCH: Jeff Bezos reportedly just spent $165 million on a Beverly Hills estate — here are all the ways the world’s richest man makes and spends his money