You can't delete your Cash App transaction history, but there's also no need to — here's what you need to know

Square Cash App

  • There’s no need to delete your history on the Cash App, because all of your past and future transactions are already private.
  • Unlike Venmo, transactions are already private and you don’t have to change anything to hide transactions from others.
  • However, if you want all evidence of your payments gone from your phone, you’ll have to delete your Cash App account.
  • Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.

Peer-to-peer money transfer apps like the Cash App and Venmo are one of the conveniences brought to us by advancing technology. Instead of having to exchange bills and make change when someone owes us money, we can now simply send each other money on our phones. 

If you’ve used the Cash App, you know that you can view all of your transaction history by tapping the clock icon in the bottom-right corner and opening the Activity tab. In this tab, you can also see a list of people you’ve recently interacted with in the app.

How to delete Cash App history

You can’t delete your Cash App transaction history, but there’s also no need to

You’ll also notice, however, that there is no way to delete these interactions. When you tap on a payment it simply gives the payment details and says if it’s pending or completed. You can tap the three dots in the top-right corner, but the only further options it gives you are to get a web receipt or to contact Support if something is wrong.

How to delete Cash App history

There’s no way to delete your history in your account settings either. When you go to “Privacy & Security,” your only options are to enable or change a PIN lock, make your cashtag searchable, or to enable or disable payment requests. 

This isn’t very different than how Venmo works — Venmo also doesn’t let you delete your transaction history, but with Venmo’s settings you can choose to make all past and future transactions private.

How to delete Cash App history

However, the difference is that with the Cash App all of your transactions on the app are already private, meaning that only you and the other person involved in the payment can see it. 

So, unless you don’t even want to see your transactions on your phone — in which case you’d have to delete your whole account — there’s no need to make your transactions private because they already are.

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

  • ‘Can you send money from PayPal to Cash App?’: Not directly, but you can use your bank account — here’s how

  • How to unlink and delete your Cash App account on your iPhone

  • How to change your Cash App PIN on an Android or iPhone

  • How to receive money on Venmo and transfer funds to a connected bank account

  • You can’t delete your Venmo history, but you can make all past and future transactions private — here’s how to do it

SEE ALSO: The best iPhone for every type of person and budget

Join the conversation about this story »

NOW WATCH: Watch Google reveal the new Nest Mini, which is an updated Home Mini