How to delete or deactivate your Snapchat account, which you can only do from a desktop browser

FILE PHOTO: The Snapchat app logo is seen on a smartphone in this picture illustration taken September 15, 2017. REUTERS/Dado Ruvic/Illustration

  • Deleting your Snapchat account requires logging into the desktop version of the social media platform.
  • Your Snapchat account won’t be deleted right away — once you complete all the steps, it will be deactivated for 30 days. During that time, you’ll be able to reactivate your account. After that, it will be permanently deleted.
  • Here are the steps you’ll need to take to delete your Snapchat account.
  • Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.

If you decide that you don’t want your Snapchat account anymore, you can always delete your account. To do so, however, you’ll need to use the desktop version of the app, which means you’ll need to know your login information.

Keep in mind that once you complete these steps, your Snapchat account won’t be deleted right away; it’ll be deactivated for 30 days, during which time you’ll have the option to reactivate your account before it’s permanently deleted. So, in case you change your mind, it’s a good idea to have your password and username handy.

And if you want to grab your data from the app in addition to deleting your Snapchat account, be sure that you have that done before going through this process. Otherwise you may lose your pictures and videos.

How to delete your Snapchat account

When you’re ready to delete your account, here’s what you’ll need to do:

1. Go to the Snapchat accounts portal and enter the username, or email address, and password associated with your account.

1 HOW TO DELETE SNAPCHAT ACCOUNT

2. Click “Delete My Account.”

2 HOW TO DELETE SNAPCHAT ACCOUNT

3. Confirm your choice by selecting “Continue” (you may also have to re-enter your username and password if they aren’t saved to autofill).

3 HOW TO DELETE SNAPCHAT ACCOUNT

Your friends on Snapchat won’t be able to contact you through your account once you’ve completed the deletion process. You’ll have to make sure that you have some other contact information saved for them if you want to keep in touch.

If you decide to reactivate your account before 30 days have passed, you can do so by logging back into your account using your username and password. It may take up to 24 hours for your account to reactivate.

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

  • How to delete your Facebook account on a desktop browser or mobile app

  • How to log out of Instagram on your phone or computer to protect your account’s security

  • How to delete your Instagram account on an iPhone, or temporarily disable it

  • How to deactivate your Twitter account on an iPhone, and delete the app

SEE ALSO: The best iPhone for every type of person and budget

Join the conversation about this story »

NOW WATCH: Jeff Bezos is worth over $160 billion — here’s how the world’s richest man makes and spends his money