Home / Nation / Karnataka Assembly elections to be held on May 12, counting of votes on May 15

Karnataka Assembly elections to be held on May 12, counting of votes on May 15

Polling for the 224-member Karnataka assembly elections will be held in a single phase on May 12, while counting of votes will be done on May 15.

Om Prakash Rawat (in photo), Chief Election Commissioner of India, announced the dates for the crucial Karnataka polls on Tuesday.

  • Issue of notification: April 17, 2018
  • Last day to submit nomination: April 24,  2018
  • Scrutiny of nomination: April 25, 2018
  • Last Date for withdrawal of nomination: April 27, 2018
  • Date of polls: May 12, 2018
  • Date of Counting: May 15, 2018

Rs 23 Lakh Ceiling on Expenditure Per Candidate: CEC
The Karnataka Assembly elections will be held in a single phase on 12 May 2018. The counting of votes will take place on 15 May, announced CEC OP Rawat.

Model Code of Conduct Comes Into Force
CEC OP Rawat reiterated that with the announcement of polls in Karnataka, the Model Code of Conduct immediately comes into force and all provisions apply to the state. He appealed to the media to highlight any activity that does not comply with the Model Code of Conduct. He said, however, paid news will also be monitored by the Election Commission.

On one hand their party President talks about uniting Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs & Christians, on the other hand their CM is creating a divide between Hindus, such a major internal-conflict is not there in any other party: Amit Shah in Davanagere #Karnataka

No post-poll allaince except Mayawati: HD Deve Gowda, JD(S) #KarnatakaElections2018 pic.twitter.com/zVZshhVHy8

When Siddaramaiah was Dy CM & Dharam Singh was CM, we were team B for Congress & now again whether we become team B for Congress or Congress will become team B for JD(S), we will watch: HD Deve Gowda on Rahul Gandhi’s statement, ‘JDS is BJP’s team B’ pic.twitter.com/xD2PmdKIJP

View image on Twitter

EVMs and VVPAT in Every Polling Station: OP Rawat
Chief Election Commissioner of India OP Rawat said that there will be 52,696 polling stations in the Karnataka Assembly elections 2018. He added that all polling stations will have Electronic Voting machine and VVPAT.

Rawat said that ballot will have photos of the candidates attached to it.
Karnataka elections are politically significant for the Congress government led by Siddaramaiah as well as the Bharatiya Janata Party as it is the only big state where the Congress is in power after losing a string of assembly polls to the BJP in the last few years.

EC Commission to Take Action on Leaked Dates: CEC
The Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat said that “certain things may have leaked” for which the body “will take action”. His statement comes in the backdrop of BJP’s IT Cell head Amit Malviya putting out the dates of the assembly elections on social media.

Certain things may have leaked for which Election Commission will take appropriate action. It will be investigated. Be assured that actions legally and administratively befitting will be taken, Rawat said.

High-octane elections
The high-octane political campaigns which have been ongoing for past couple of months witnessed both the Congress and the BJP slugging it out alleging each other of communal politics.

The tenure of the 224-member Karnataka Legislative Assembly expires on 28 May and the new House has to be constituted before that.

The BJP is making a concerted bid to unseat the Congress. Besides the Congress and the BJP, the JD(S), led by former prime minister H D Deve Gowda, is the third player in the fray.

The incumbent Siddaramaiah-led Congress government is eyeing a second term in the state. The BJP, which is currently in power in 20 states, is trying to add a 21st state to the list.

A win in Karnataka would be a massive boost for the BJP as the saffron party has been eyeing South India for a while now.

The Congress government’s decision, political observers have said, is aimed at denting the vote bank of the BJP, which has declared BS Yeddyurappa its chief ministerial candidate.

Earlier this month, Congress President Rahul Gandhi, too, was seen visiting temples in the state along with Chief Minister Siddaramaiah.

Rahul Gandhi, along with other leaders, had visited Shringeri Sharadamba Temple in Chikmagalur district and Sringeri Mutt last week as a part of his ‘Jana Aashirwada Yatre’.

Meanwhile, a pre-poll survey has predicted that the Congress is likely to return to power in Karnataka. The pre-poll survey conducted by C-Fore predicted that the party will win 126 seats in the 224-strong assembly in the upcoming state polls.

The survey was conducted between March 1 and 25 and the poll agency took feedback from 22,357 voters in 154 assembly constituencies. The agency gave a margin of error of one percentage point.