The Netherlands wins 7th women’s hockey World Cup title by defeating Australia

THE HAGUE, 14 June-2014, Agencies: Olympic gold medallists The Netherlands defeated Australia 2-0 in the title showdown to clinch the women’s hockey World Cup at the Kyocera Stadium here on Saturday.

The Netherlands wins 7th women’s hockey World Cup title by defeating Australia

The Netherlands wins 7th women’s hockey World Cup title by defeating Australia

This was the fourth time these two nations met in the women’s World Cup final and The Netherlands has won three of them. Out of 13 women’s World Cups since its inception in 1974, the Dutch have won it seven times.

Captain Maartje Paumen, one of the four Dutch players winning her second World Cup gold, put her team ahead in the 12th minute with a penalty stroke conversion. The penalty stroke was awarded when Ross Dross was brought down by the goalkeeper and a defender inside the circle.

Livewire striker Kim Lammers increased the lead by beating goalkeeper Rachael Lynch with her second try in the 29th minute after her initial shot was blocked by the custodian.

Bronze for Argentina

Argentina’s star striker Luciana Aymer scored twice in the bronze medal play off that the South American nation won 2-1 against the USA. Aymer scored field goals in the eighth and 21st minutes. Lauran Crandall got the lone goal for USA in the 11th through a penalty corner.

Easy win

Akashdeep Singh scored two goals as India posted a comfortable 3-0 win over Asian champion South Korea to finish ninth on Saturday. With the victory in the ninth-10th place play-off match, India managed to avenge its 4-3 loss to South Korea in last year’s Asia Cup final at Ipoh.

Akashdeep opened India’s account in the sixth minute by tapping in a square pass from S.V. Sunil and then rounded off the score with a reverse hit in a crowded circle in the 50th minute. In between, Rupinder Pal Singh converted a penalty stroke in the 42nd minute after his penalty corner flick was stopped by a defender with his body on the goal-line.

India ended its campaign a notch below the eighth-place finish at New Delhi in 2010.

The results: Men: Play-offs: 9-10: India 3 (Akashdeep Singh 6 & 50, Rupinder Pal Singh 43) bt South Korea 0.

Women: Final: The Netherlands 2 (Maartje Paumen 12, Kim Lammers 29) bt Australia 0. 3-4: Argentina 2 (Luciana Aymar 8 & 21) bt USA 1 (Lauren Crandall 11). 5-6: New Zealand 4 (Anita Punt 6 & 60, Kayla Whitelock 45, Krystal Forgesson 63) bt China 0.