Kings XI Punjab defeated Delhi Daredevils by 7 wickets

Kings XI Punjab defeated Delhi Daredevils by seven wickets to end their IPL league engagements at the top of the table in Mohali.

Delhi Daredevils’ final innings was as woeful as their opening one as they managed only a below-par 115 in 18.1 overs against table-toppers Kings XI Punjab.

Kings XI Punjab defeated Delhi Daredevils by 7 wickets

Kings XI Punjab defeated Delhi Daredevils by 7 wickets

Kevin Pietersen (58) finally got a half-century that had nine boundaries with a few bearing testimony of the vintage ’KP’ but his teammates again showed that most of them didn’t have the application nor the zeal to finish with their heads held high.

In the end, they were all-out with as many as 11 balls to spare. Parvinder Awana, Mitchell Johnson, Akshar Patel and Karanveer Singh got two wickets each.

Save their skipper, none of the other Delhi batsmen scored above 15 leave alone a quickfire 20 plus score.

Mayank Agarwal (2) once again played an irresponsible shot as has been the case with him in this edition and was caught by Virender Sehwag off Johnson.

With 115 runs from eight games, there would always be questions raised whether the Bangalore boy deserved a chance in the playing XI after so many failures.

Dinesh Karthik (13) had three boundaries but closed his bat face off Awana to give a simple catch to Akshar Patel.

Save an odd performance here and there, the Tamil Nadu stumper didn’t inspire any confidence whatsoever infront or behind the stumps.

Kedar Jadhav (0) being promoted up the order tried to hit Awana over mid—off but Manan Vohra took a smart overhead catch to reduce Daredevils to 44 for three at the end of Powerplay.

Manoj Tiwary (8) was a victim of a mix—up as non—striker Kevin Pietersen ran straight to the batsman’s end without looking at the point fielder, who lobbed it back to the bowler at the non—striker’s end to do the needful.

JP Duminy (8) tried a sweep shot when a delivery from leggie Karanveer bounced a tad too much and an easy catch was taken by Akshar Patel at short cover.

Pietersen was then adjudged leg-before trying to play Rishi Dhawan across the line although replays showed that the ball might have drifted down leg-side. The former England captain faced 41 balls for his 58.

Delhi Daredevils:

Kevin Pietersen lbw b Dhawan 58

Mayank Agarwal c Sehwag b Johnson 2

Dinesh Karthik c Patel b Awana 13

Kedar Jadhav c Vohra b Awana 0

Manoj Tiwary run out (Dhawan/Bailey) 8

JP Duminy c Patel b Karanveer 8

Jimmy c Bailey b Karanveer 12

Shahbaz Nadeem not out 3

Mohammed Shami b Patel 0

Imran Tahir c Dhawan b Patel 4

Jaydev Unadkat c Maxwell b Johnson 0

Extras: (LB-1, W-6) 7

Total: (all out in 18.1 overs) 115

Fall of wickets: 1-13, 2-44, 3-44, 4-67, 5-91, 6-93, 7-110, 8-111, 9-115, 10-115.

Bowling: Awana 3-1-15-2, Patel 4-0-28-2, Johnson 3.1-0-27-2, Karanveer 4-0-22-2, Dhawan 4-0-22-1.


Delhi Daredevils: Mayank Agarwal, Kevin Pietersen, Dinesh Karthik, JP Duminy, Manoj Tiwary, Jimmy Neesham, Kedar Jadhav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Jaydev Unadkat, Imran Tahir

KXIP: Virender Sehwag, Manan Vohra, Glenn Maxwell, Wriddhiman Saha, David Miller, George Bailey, Akashar Patel, Mitchell Johnson, Rishi Dhawan, Karanveer Singh, Parvinder Awana.