Mumbai Indians wins over Royal Challengers Bangalore by 19 runs

Mumbai, 6 May-2014, DC: In the 27th game of IPL 7, Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 19 runs.

Put in to bat first, Mumbai Indians were powered to 187 runs in 20 overs by Rohit Sharma and Kieron Pollard.

Mumbai Indians wins over Royal Challengers Bangalore by 19 runs

Mumbai Indians wins over Royal Challengers Bangalore by 19 runs

Needing 188 runs to beat MI, Royal Challengers Bangalore started off on a smashing note milking 43 runs off first three overs. While Parthiv Patel provided the early impetus, it was Gayle who blasted 28 runs in the third over. Thanks to Gayle’s blitz, RCB brought up their fifty in the fifth over.

Just when RCB openers looked set for a long stay in the middle, Harbhajan got out Parthiv Patel in the final over of powerplay. Gayle though did not look fluster with Patel’s dismissal as he continued to tonk MI attack. But Harbhajan struck once again to bring back MI in this game as he castled Gayle’s defence.

As they say, a wicket brings in another wicket. Here it brought more – first Bumrah dismissed dangerous AB de Villiers in the 13th over. Mumbai Indians landed another blow in the next over when Corey Anderson took a fine running catch off Suyal’s bowling to send back Virat Kohli to RCB dug-out. If these two quick wickets were not enough, RCB were jolted by Pollard’s brilliant footballing skills ended Yuvraj Singh’s stay in the middle.

From thereon, Rpyal Challenegers Bangalore did not have much of a chance to create an upset. Mumbai Indians bowlers kept their cool and made sure there was no unnecessary tense moments in the final stage of the match and secured a 19-run win over RCB.

Earlier, playing at their homeground, Mumbai Indians made a positive start with the bat. The opening pair of C M Gautam and Ben Dunk scored 25 in the first three overs. But Dunk’s patience ran out as he chipped one straight to Yuvraj Singh at mid-off on the first ball of the 4th over. That though did not stop the C M Gautam as he continued to hit a long ball. By the end of powerplay overs, MI brought up their fifty.

Following the batting powerplay, Royal Challengers Bangalore made a comeback of sorts dismissing Rayudu, Gautam and Corey Anderson in space of 13 runs. First, Dinda castled Rayudu’s defence, then Aaron dismissed cheeky Gautam and then young Yuzvendra Chahal got out the big hitting Corey Anderson in the 10th over.

Rohit and Pollard repaired the Mumbai Indians’ inning with some much needed calm and composure. But the things turned real ugly in the 17th over. Starc bowled a bouncer to Pollard and had a word or two. The theatrics continued when Pollard withdrew on the next ball. STarc though aimed the ball to Pollard’s leg. The angry West Indian then tried to throw his bat at Starc’s direction. The umpires intervened but Pollard did not seem to be in a mood to listen to anyone.

Rohit Sharma unlike his partner did not waste his energy in arguing with the bowler and channerlised it to hit crushing blows. Varun Aaron’s 19th over read like this – 6, 4, 6, 2, 6, 0 ; courtesy Rohit Sharma. That onsluaght helped him reach his first fifty of IPL 7. Mumbai Indians eventually put up 187 in their quota of 20 overs.


Mumbai Indians: C M Gautam, Ben Dunk, Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma (c), Corey Anderson, Kieron Pollard, Aditya Tare, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Pawan Suyal.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Chirs Gayle, Parthiv Patel, Virat Kohli (c) , Rille Rossouw, AB de Villiers, Yuvraj Singh, Mitchell Starc, Harshal Patel, Ashok Dinda, Varun Aaron, Yuzvendra Chahal.