AAP Finalizes First List Of Candidates For Lok Sabha Elections 2014

List Of Candidates For Lok Sabha Elections 2014

New Delhi, February18, Abhijit Saha: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) released its first list of 20 candidates for Lok Sabha elections on Sunday. This list came from two days later of quitting of AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal as the chief minister of Delhi. This list includes two candidates from Delhi, Seven candidates from Uttar Pradesh, six candidates from Maharashtra and one candidate each from Arunchal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab and Odisha.

Corruption has been picked as the main campaign pitch for the party leadership of AAP. The party has also decided to take on Ambani brothers for ‘crony capitalism’. The party had already lodged an FIR against Reliance Industries chairman Mukesh Ambani over the issue of gas pricing when they were in Delhi government.

It is known from sources that Prashant Bhushan who is a senior leader of Aam Aadmi Party said that the party is working towards exposing the corrupt group of industrial houses and politicians. He said that this campaign will become even louder in the upcoming days. The upcoming Lok Sabha is a kind of AAP versus Reliance since Reliance controls the congress and the BJP and we are not going to spare Anil Ambani either he added. He also said that the party have chosen to focus on Reliance because it’s the epitome of crony capitalism and how it influences policy making in our country.

Manish Sisodia the senior leader of AAP told the reporters in New Delhi that the main motto of the party is to send honest people to the Parliament and that they do not want to send criminals and people with dynastic background. He also said that the party would soon release the list of candidates for other seats.

Ashutosh who is a TV journalist-turned-politician will contest from Chandni Chowk seat in Delhi currently held by Union Minister Kapil Sibal. Ashutosh was the managing editor of IBN7.

Mukul Tripathi former scribe will contest for Farukhabad seat in Uttar Pradesh against the constituency of another Union Minister Salman Khurshid. Mukul Tripathy is anactivist who has been fighting for the cause of physically impaired people and is awarded with Shreshth Karmi Award in the year 2009.

List Of Candidates For Lok Sabha Elections 2014 1

Baba Hardev Singh an activist has been given ticket to contest against Mulayam Singh Yadav’s stronghold Mainpuri. Hardev Singh is an retired IAS officer and a popular civil servant. Mr. Singh was also the president of UP PCS Officers Association.

Subhash Ware a senior leader of AAP National Executive will contest from Pune against a seat currently held by Congress MP Suresh Kalmadi, who is now facing corruption charges on CWC scam. Ware has been a member of Rastriya Seva Dal and former president of Chatrrs Bharati Movement in Maharashtra. He is a supporter of India Against Corruption movement.

List Of Candidates For Lok Sabha Elections 2014 2

Anjali Damania who is an anti corruption activist is fielded to contest from Nagpur against Nitin Gadkari former BJP National President. She is a pathologist by profession. She exposed corruption in Kondhane dam project through RTI queries.

List Of Candidates For Lok Sabha Elections 2014 3

Peasant leader Somendra Dhaka will contest from Baghpat in Uttar Pradesh against a seat represented Ajit Singh who is a Union Minister and the chief of Rashtriya Lok Dal. Somendra is involved in resolving social issues and is inspired by the idea of Swaraj and wishes to make it a reality.

Jarnail Singh is contesting from West Delhi seat which is currently represented by Congress leader Mahabal Mishra in Parliament. Jarnail was a journalist and was a crusader for the rights of anti sikh riot victims in 1984.

Dr. Jiyalal Ra who is a scientist is contesting for Langanj seat in Uttar Pradesh against Dr. Bali Ram of BSP. He was rewarded by government of Maharashtra for controlling remaining gas in Bhopal in 1984.

Kumar Vishwas from Amethi has been pitted against the seat of vice president of congress Rahul Gandhi. Kumar Vishwas is a professor of Hindi Literature and also a hindi poet. Vishwas ensures reopening of closed factories if he wins Lok sabha constituency from Amethi.

List Of Candidates For Lok Sabha Elections 2014 4

Yogenda Yadav who is already an AAP party leader and founder member will be contesting from Gurgaon in Haryana against Inderjit Singh. Ha has also been appointed as in charge of AAP Haryana. Yadav was made a member of National Advisory Council for rolling out law for right to education in year 2010.

Mayank Gandhi senior AAP leader will contest from the North West Mumbai seat against former Union minister Gurudas Kamat. Mayank was the leader of India Against Corruption Movement in Maharashtra. He was also a member of the drafting team of Nagar Raj Bill and contributed to the formation of the RTI Act.

Social activist Medha Patkar is also contesting for a seat in North East Mumbai against Sanjay Dina Patil of NCP. Medha Patkar is the founder member of Narmada Bachao Andolan. She also founded the National Alliance of People’s Movements.

Meera Sanyal who was a banker by profession is contesting against Union Minister Millind Deora. Meera Sanyal also contested as an independent candidate in the Lok Sabha elections 2009 from South Mumbai but lost. She was also the former CEO and Chairperson of RBS India.

Habung Pyang a former Information Commissioner in Arunachal Pradesh, will be contesting in the northeastern state against Takam Sanjay. Actively associated with social work, Habung is a strict and adept information officer of our country.

Vijay Baliram Pandhare a former engineer with the state government is contesting for the seat in Nashik against Sameer Bhujbal. Vijay Pandhare had helped to unearth the irrigation scam leading to the resignation of Deputy CM Ajit Pawar.

Alok Agarwal a senior activist of the Narmada Bachao Andolan, is contesting from Khandwa in Madhya Pradesh against Arun Subhashchandra Yadav. He is an B.Tech from IIT Kanpur.

Lingraj a socio political activist, who took part in the agitation against Posco, will contest for the Bargarh seat in Odisha against Sanjay Bhoi. Lingraj was the former National President of the Samajwadi Jan Parishad and a part of various farmer related activities and people’s movement in the state.

Harvinder Singh Phoolka who is an advocate by profession will contest from Ludhiana against Manish Tewari the present Information and broadcasting minister. Phoolka has been fighting for justice for the victims pertaining to 1984 riots.

Yogesh Dahiya a leader from Uttar Pradesh will be contesting from Saharanpur against Jagdish Singh Rana of BSP. Dahiya is actively involved with farmer’s movement.

Khalid Pervez an educationist will contest from Moradabad against former cricketer Mohd Azharuddin currently representing in Parliament. Parvez is also a social entrepreneur.

However, the party has not announced any candidate in Rae Bareli, against Congress President Sonia Gandhi.