Special Report: 8 No Mangaldai Loksabha Constituency,Assam

Assam, February 15, Sandipan Saha: Indian Lok Sabha, as the name itself stands for the body representative of people. All Indian citizen of aged above 18 and above  directly chooses the member of parliament. Our Indian Parliament is the main sovereign legislative body of the Country. Lok Sabha , the lower House  of the Indian Parliament is consists of MP’s ( Member of Parliament). At present there are total of 543 MP’s in our Indian Parliament.

The main role of the Indian Lok Sabha or lower house is to pass laws. Every new Law must be passed by the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and acceded by the President of India.

In this Article there will a brief description of  Mangaldai Parliamentary Constituency which is situated in the  city of Darrang district, state of Assam.

8 No Mangaldai Loksabha Constituency,Assam

The Mangaldai Constituency is consists of 10 Legislative Assembly Constituency (LAC). They are as follows:

  1. Kamalpur
  2. Rangia
  3. Nalbari
  4. Paneri
  5. Sipajhar
  6. Kalaigaon
  7. Mangaldoi
  8. Dalgaon
  9. Udalguri
  10. Majbat

There are total no of 4 Legislative Assembly Constituency in the 8th no. Mangaldai Constituency, which includes:

  1. Kalaigaon
  2. Sipajhar
  3. Mangaldai
  4. Dalgaon

There are total 6 no. of revenue & total 18 no. of Mouza. In Mangaldai sub-division there are total no of 7 Administrative person. Where, 4 no. of  Additional Deputy Commossioner, 2 no of Extra Asstt. Commissioner, 1 no. of Sub-divisional Officer (Sadar) & Election  Officer respectively.

There are total no of 10 MP’s selected from this Constituency till date. In 1967  the first  MP was selected from the Mangaldai Constituency for the first time.

        DC office of Mangaldai

DC office of Mangaldai


Session  1967 (Hem Barua):

In this year Late Hem Barua was the MP of this Constituency.  He was also the first MP of this Constituency. At the time of election of got total 107718 votes. Dharani Dhar Das from Indian National Congress was runner up , he got a total no of 70718 votes.

Hem Barua

Hem Barua was an eminent poet and politician of Assam. He also became the president of  Assam Sahitya Sabha of the Dhubri  session in 1972. He was elected as a MP from the Praja Socialist Party (PSP). He left Indian National Congress ( INC ) at 1948 and join PSP. This Party was led by Jayprakash Narayan popularly known as Lok Nayak. Beside this he was also elected to the Lok Sabha from Guwahati in 1957 and 1962 respectively.

Session 1971 (Dharani Dhar Das):

In this session the main battle of MP was between Hem Barua and Dharani Dhar Das. But in this session of Lok Sabha election Dharani Dhar Das, candidate of Indian National Congress ( INC) won as a second MP of this Constituency. He got a total no of 90058 votes while his rival Hem Barua from Praja Socialist Party (PSP) got only 50485 votes.

Session 1977 (Hira Lal Patowary):

In 1977 Lok Sabha election Hira Lal Patowary was elected from Mangaldai Constituency as a third MP. He was from Janata Party or People’s Party. He got 162603 no of votes while Dharani Dhar Das from Indian National Party (INC) was the runner up and he got 112601 votes.

Session 1985 (Saifuddin Ahmed):

At this 8th Lok Sabha election there was a total no of 10 contestant, but this time Saifuddin Ahmed won as a 4th MP for the Mangaldai  Constituency.  He was an independent candidate. As a winner he got a total no of 282014 votes while his rival Imran Shah who was also an independent candidate got 136221 votes. The winning margin was 145793 ( 23.68% of Total Valid Votes ).

Session 1991 (Prbin Deka):

In this session of Lok Sabha election Prbin Deka from Indian National Congress (INC) was elected as a MP from the Mangaldai Constituency. He defeated Birendra Prasad Baishya of Asom Gana Parishad (AGP). Prbin deka got 164410 which is 24.02% of the total valid votes. While Birendra Prasad Baishya got 146397 (21.39% of  the total valid votes). Prbin Deka was the 5th MP from Mangaldai Constituency.

Session 1996 (Birendra Prasad Baishya):

For the first time of Birendra Prasad Baishya was selected as a MP for Mangaldai Constituency from Asom Gana Parishad ( AGP ). He was the 6th MP of this Constituency. In this session again the main battle was between Prbin Deka (INC) and Birendra Prasad Baishya (AGP). When the final results comes up Prbin Deka (INC) got only 162706 votes while Birendra Prasad Baishya got 261838 votes. He won with a very huge margin.

Session 1998 & 1999 (Madhab Rajbangshi):

For the session of 1998 & 1999 Lok Sabha election Madhab Rajbangshi was elected as a MP for Mangaldai Constituency. He was representing Indian National Congress (INC).

In 1998 he defeated  Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s candidate Munindra Singha Lahkar. Mr. Rajbangshi got 278591 no of votes while Mr. Lahkar got 148014 votes.

Mr. Madhab Rajbangshi

Mr. Madhab Rajbangshi

In again 1999 the Lok sabha election was between Mr. Rajbangshi (INC) and Mr. Lahkar (BJP) but unfortunately again this Mr. Lahkar defeated by Madhab Rajbangshi. Mr. Rajbangshi got 283749 votes and Mr. Lahkar got 267315 votes.

Session 2004 (Narayan Chandra Borkataky):

As a 9th MP of Mangaldai Constituency Mr. Narayan Chandra Borkataky candidate of  Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was elected. He got a total 345863 votes while his rival Madhab Rajbangshi (INC) got 315997 votes.

Session 2009 (Ramen Deka):

As a 10th  and current MP from Mangaldai Constituency Mr. Ramen Deka was selected. He was representing for Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). While his main rival was Mr. Madhab Rajbangshi (INC). Mr. Ramen Deka got 307881 votes while

Mr. Madhab Rajbangshi managed to get only 252032 votes. There was total 13 no of candidate for MP election.

Session 2014:

As the Lok Sabha election is approaching , for the no 8 Mangaldai Parliamentary Constituency  Indian National Congress (INC) released a 16 member list, which is consists of 3 female member also. Except from former MP Mr. Madhab Rajbangshi all are new face. While Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has declared only two candidate which is includes present MP. Mr. Ramen Deka and Narayan Borkotoki . Besides this two team  Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) will also competing this election with their candidate but this time there will be no alliance with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) like last Lok Sabha Election.

One Response to Special Report: 8 No Mangaldai Loksabha Constituency,Assam

  1. Pramathesh Borkotoky

    I think you confused with the Hemchandra Barua and Hem Barua.