ABVP wins three of top four posts in DU students polls, NSUI gets the other

Shradha Chettri,New Delhi: The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) swept the Delhi University Students Union( DUSU) elections on Saturday,

winning three of the top posts.
The National Student Union of India (NSUI) took one seat. The results were declared on Saturday.
In 2014 and 2015, the ABVP, affiliated to the right-wing RSS, won all four top posts. In 2013, the Congress-affiliated NSUI claimed one post, while the ABVP held three.The left-wing All India Students Association (AISA) was also in the fray, but failed to make any impact.
In this year’s polls, three ABVP candidates were elected — Amit Tanwar as the president, Priyanka Chabri as vice-president and Ankit Kumar Sangwan as the secretary. NSUI’s Mohit Graid won the post of the joint secretary.
“We have won and our vote share has increased because throughout the year, we have stayed amongst students and fought for them. This ABVP win is also a comment against anti-national activities happening across the country,”said Tanwar.This year’s polls saw the lowest turnout since 2010, with only 36.9% students exercising their franchise.
Ninety-one candidates fought for the four crucial posts: 27 candidates for the post of president, 19 for vice-president, 24 for secretary and 21 for the post of joint secretary.