Come on! Let’s cheer for our Paralympians

Sivasagar, Prangan Duarah: So, after Olympic now it’s time for summer paralympic 2016. With the Opening Ceremony which was held on Sept. 7, 2016, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, became the first South American city to host a Paralympic Games. More than 4,350 athletes from 160 nations are competing in 22 sports, including para-canoe and paratriathlon, both which debut on the Paralympic program in 2016. This wonderful event is held every four years for athletes who suffer from various disabilities. This year this event will continue till September 18. The paralympic is an attempt to provide equal opportunity to the athletes with a range of disabilities, including impaired muscle power,  impaired passive range of movement, limb deficiency, leg length difference, short stature, hypertonia, ataxia, athetosis, vision impairment etc. The three colours, red, blue, and green, of Paralympic symbol, signifies the colours most widely represented in the flags of nations. The colours are each in the shape of an Agito, means “I move”, which is the name given to an asymmetrical crescent specially designed for the Paralympic movement. The vision of International Paralympic Committee is, “To enable Paralympic athletes to achieve sporting excellence and to inspire and excite the world.”

Image result for summer paralympics 2016

This time, 19 Indian Paralympians are representing our nation in this international event. Like Rio Olympic 2016, Indian also sent its largest delegation to represent the nation in this event. Here is the complete list of the Paralympians who are representing India.

Amit Kumar Saroha – Club throw

Devendra Jhajaria – Javelin throw

Mariyappan Thangavelu – High jump

Sundar Singh Gurjar – Javelin throw

Dharambir – Club throw

Deepa Malik – Shot put

Karamjyoti Dalal – Discus throw

Ankur Dhama – 1500m

Basha Farman – Powerlifting

Rinku – Javelin Throw

Narendra Ranbir – Javelin Throw

Suyash Narayan Jadhav – Swimming

Virender Dhankar – Shotput, Javelin throw

Rampal Chahar – High jump

Sandeep – Javelin throw

Sharad Kumar – High jump

Pooja Rani – Archery

Naresh Kumar Sharma – Shooting

Varun Singh Bhati – High Jump

So, come on India! Let’s the game spirit up and cheer for you 19 Paralympians.