PM Modi to lecture BJP Rajya Sabha members today on their ‘duties’

New Delhi: Kumar Uttar,Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday will give a pep talk to Bharatiya Janata Party’s Rajya Sabha legislators after his back to back meetings with the BJP’s core group and chief ministers.

This is the party’s coordination meetings that BJP president Amit Shah will hold with stakeholders for effective outreach to people.
In his last two meetings with the core group and chief ministers, Modi focussed on coordination, consultation and implementation of government schemes for the welfare of poor. He also asked party leaders to remain connected to people.
Party leaders feel that its Rajya Sabha members need to do more to keep in touch with people. Unlike their counterparts from the Lok Sabha, the members of the Upper House do not have a dedicated constituency – they represent a state – and focus is often lost.
“So this meeting is to brief them about their duties outside Parliament,” a BJP leader said.
Several BJP MPs belong to one state but get elected to the Rajya Sabha from a different state.
MoS in the external affairs ministry MJ Akbar has been a journalist in Delhi and Kolkata, but got elected to the Rajya Sabha from Jharkhand and now Madhya Pradesh.
Defence minister Manohar Parrikar, former Goa chief minister, represents Uttar Pradesh. Minority affairs minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi is a leader from Uttar Pradesh, but represents Jharkhand.
Railway minister Suresh Prabhu is from Maharashtra but got elected to the Rajya Sabha from Haryana before finally shifting to his home state. Sports minister Vijay Goyal, former chief of Delhi BJP, is a Rajya Sabha member from Rajasthan. Petroleum minister Dharmendra Pradhan is a leader from Odisha but got elected from Bihar.
“For these leaders who don’t get directly elected to Parliament, keeping focus on a particular constituency could be difficult. Modi will remind them of their duties,” another BJP leader said.
In a similar exercise, Modi took stock of the party’s Lok Sabha members’ work during the monsoon session of Parliament.
The BJP has only 52 members in the Rajya Sabha and is in minority in the Upper House.