Modi govt appoints new governors for 3 states; Najma Heptullah to be new Manipur Governor

The Narendra Modi-led BJP government on Wednesday appointed new governors for Assam, Manipur, Punjab, and a Lieutenant Governor for Andaman and Nicobar Islands, a release from the Rashtrapati Bhavan said.

Najma A. Heptulla who resigned last month from the Union Cabinet, has been appointed as the Governor of Manipur, replacing V. Shanmuganthan.

Banwarilal Purohit has been made the Governor of Assam, replacing Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya.

Punjab Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki has been replaced by VP. Singh Badnore. Jagdish Mukhi has been appointed as the Lieutenant Governor of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

The release said that the appointments will be made effective from the dates the incumbents assume charge of their respective offices.