Home / Nation / Modi Cabinet reshuffle: Prakash Javadekar elevated to cabinet rank, 19 new faces inducted

Modi Cabinet reshuffle: Prakash Javadekar elevated to cabinet rank, 19 new faces inducted

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday carried out a major expansion of his Council of Ministers, inducting 19 new faces, including several dalit and OBC leaders as well as from poll-bound states like UP.


Prakash Javadekar, who held the independent charge of environment, was the lone minister promoted to the cabinet rank while all new inductees took oath as ministers of state.

All barring Vijay Goel and Faggan Kulaste are new faces while a few have been ministers in BJP-ruled state governments.

Ajay Tamta, Arjun Ram Meghwal, Krishna Raj, Ramdas Athawale, Ramesh C Jigaginagi were among the dalit MPs sworn in as ministers by President Pranab Mukherjee at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Others who were inducted in the Modi government included Anupriya Patel, S S Ahluwalia, P P Chadudhary, C R Chaudhary, M J Akbar, J Bhabhor, Purshotam Rupala Mansukhbhai Mandaviya, S R Bhamre, Mahendra Nath Padey, A M Dave, Rajen Gohain.

While Patel and Athawale are BJP allies, all others are from BJP.

(with agency inputs)

Live updates:

13:32 PM

PM Narendra Modi invites the newly inducted Ministers for tea at 2:30 PM today.


12:12 PM

Five ministers dropped from the Union Council of Ministers:Nihalchand, Ram Shankar Katheria, Sanwar Lal Jat, Manuskhbhai D Vasva and M K Kundariya dropped.


11:41 AM

WATCH: BJP workers break into dance in Bhopal after Anil Dave got inducted as Minister of state#CabinetExpansionhttps://t.co/J9NMLjQ2xW

— ANI (@ANI_news) July 5, 2016


11:37 AM

CR Chaudhary from Rajasthan sworn in as MoS

PP Chaudhary from Rajasthan takes oath as Minister

Subhash Bhamre, BJP  Lok Sabha MP from Maharashtra takes oath as MoS


11:35 AM

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live: Krishna Raj from UP sworn in as news Mos https://t.co/DaLMHqY4Gcpic.twitter.com/qUs46iDZh6

— dna (@dna) July 5, 2016

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live: Anupriya Patel from Uttar Pradesh takes oath as new MoShttps://t.co/DaLMHqY4Gcpic.twitter.com/qp5PNZB7zb

— dna (@dna) July 5, 2016


11:32 AM

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live: Mansukh L. Mandaviya takes oath as MoS


11:29 AM

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live: Jaswantsinh Sumanbhai Bhabhor from Gujarat sworn in as new MoS https://t.co/DaLMHqY4Gcpic.twitter.com/PJUusW8vSV

— dna (@dna) July 5, 2016

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live: Mahendra Nath Pandey from Uttar Pradesh sworn in as MoShttps://t.co/DaLMHqY4Gcpic.twitter.com/N25bkKuSp4

— dna (@dna) July 5, 2016

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live: MJ Akbar, RS MP of BJP, from Madhya Pradesh takes oathhttps://t.co/DaLMHqY4Gc pic.twitter.com/ygzSiurnGd

— dna (@dna) July 5, 2016


11:26 AM

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live: MJ Akbar, RS MP of BJP, from Madhya Pradesh takes oath


11:24 AM

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live: Arjun Ram Meghwal takes oath as the MoS at Rashtrapati Bhavanhttps://t.co/DaLMHqY4Gcpic.twitter.com/EDguv6P89l

— dna (@dna) July 5, 2016


11:24 AM

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live: Ramdas Athawale, RS MP from RPI, Maharashtra sworn in as MoShttps://t.co/DaLMHqY4Gcpic.twitter.com/VMdz72KDMq

— dna (@dna) July 5, 2016

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live:Anil Madhav Dave, RS MP of BJP, from Gujarat, takes oath as MoShttps://t.co/DaLMHqY4Gc pic.twitter.com/ek3fd5I2Ne

— dna (@dna) July 5, 2016

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live: Rajen Gohain, BJP MP from Assam, sworn in as MoShttps://t.co/DaLMHqY4Gcpic.twitter.com/KBYd9kZ3kf

— dna (@dna) July 5, 2016


11:16 AM

SS Ahluwalia takes oath as Minister


11:15 AM

 Vijay Goel sworn in as the Minister of state


11:10 AM

Modi #Cabinet expansion Live: Ramesh Jigajinagi takes oath as Minister (Pic-ANI)https://t.co/DaLMHqY4Gcpic.twitter.com/xyBjXG2zTG

— dna (@dna) July 5, 2016


11:07 AM

Fagan Khulaste takes oath as Cabinet Minister at the President’s House


11:06 AM

Prakash Javadekar sworn in as Minister of Cabinet


10:31 AM

PM Modi and Amit Shah have given responsibility to new people, I welcome them. Amit Shah ji has asked me to work with him for the party. I told him, “his wish is my command”: Ram S Katheria, BJP


10:28 AM

Mansukh Mandaviya & Arjun Meghwal leave for President’s House on a cycle, will be inducted in Cabinet.


10:24 AM

Aim to fulfil BR Ambedkar’s dream of upliftment of Dalits & poor: Ramdas Athawale (RS MP, Maharashtra)


10:21 AM

# Will be inducted in Cabinet for the 1st time under PM Modi, matter of pride and honour for me: P Rupala (Rajya Sabha MP, Gujarat)


10:20 AM

# Have received letter stating that I’ll be inducted in Modi ji’s Cabinet. Very happy: PP Choudhary


10:10 AM

I am proud that I will be a part of the development vision of PM Modi: Mansukh L Mandaviya


10:09 AM

# The names of Rajya Sabha MPs Vijay Goel, M J Akbar, Anil Madhav Dave and P P Chaudhary, Lok Sabha member from Rajasthan, have also been doing the rounds as possible inductions.

# Faggan Singh Kulhaste, who was embroiled in the cash- for-votes scam during the UPA-1 rule, C R Chaudhary(Gujarat), Jasvantsinh Bhabhor(Gujarat) Rajen Gohain(Assam) and Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi(Karnataka) are also likely to be inducted.


Check Also

Interpol has rejected India’s request of a Red Corner Notice against Dr Zakir Naik and has also deleted all data

LONDON: Interpol has rejected India’s request of a Red Corner Notice against Dr Zakir Naik and …

I bless Rahul Ji for taking charge as Congress President: Sonia Gandhi

Rahul Gandhi will take over the reins of the Congress party on Saturday. This marks …