Home / Regional / Samajwadi Party suspends 4 MLAs for cross-voting in recent polls

Samajwadi Party suspends 4 MLAs for cross-voting in recent polls

NEW DELHI:The Samajwadi Party has begun taking action against MLAs suspected of cross-voting in the recently-concluded Vidhan Parishad and Rajya Sabha elections.

The party suspended four legislators on Monday, and more are likely to face the same fate in the coming days. Three of the MLAs taken to task hailed from western Uttar Pradesh constituencies.
Samajwadi Party general secretary (UP) Arvind Singh ‘Gope’ announced that state president Akhilesh Yadav has suspended Nawajish Alam Khan, the MLA from Budhana (Muzaffarnagar); Bhagwan Sharma alias Guddu Pandit, the MLA from Debai (Bulandshahr); Mukesh Sharna, the MLA from Shikarpur (Bulandshahr); and Shyam Prakash, the MLA from Gopamau (Hardoi), for allegedly engaging in anti-party activities and defying instructions given to them in the recent polls.
Biswan MLA Rampal Yadav, who had been expelled from the party a few weeks ago, voted in favour of the Bharatiya Janata Party.
With Agencies

Check Also

Trinamool Congress’ core meet today: Panchayat polls, BJP on Mamata Banerjee’s agenda

KOLKATA: After touring three districts, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee would return to Kolkata …

Congress workers march to EC to protest PM Modi’s roadshow after casting his vote

Voting is underway in the second and final phase of the Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017. …