India picks up pace against Zimbabwe

HARARE:Bhumrah restricted Zimbabwe to 168 in the opening cricket one-dayer.

Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl against Zimbabwe.

Zimbabwe kept losing wickets at regular intervals, thanks to medium pace trio of Jasprit Bumrah (4-28), Dhawal Kulkarni (2-42) and Barinder Sran (2-42).

For the hosts, Elton Chigumbura was the most successful batsman, scoring 41. Sikandar Raza contributed 23 runs.

For India, Yuzvendra Chahal, KL Rahul and Karun Nair make their ODI debut.

India came to this African nation without many established names such as Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and spinner R. Ashwin.

“It’s an international game, it has to be played with same intensity and purpose. Our focus is inwards and we want play as good as we can. let’s see how far we go,” Bangar said at the pre-match press conference.

Bangar said skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was looking forward to lead a young side.

“He is very excited to be part of bunch of young players. It’s been after a long time that he is getting an opportunity to play with younger players and pass on his experiences,” he said.


India: MS Dhoni(c and wk), Lokesh Rahul, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Axar Patel, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Zimbabwe: AG Cremer (c), C Chibhabha, H Masakadza, R Mutumbami, V Sibanda, CR Ervine, Sikandar Raza, PJ Moor, E Chigumbura, T Muzarabani, TL Chatara.