RCB or SRH, IPL trophy to have new home

Hello and welcome to the Final of the Indian Premier League 2016, in which Royal Challengers Bangalore are clashing with Sunrisers Hyderabad in Bengaluru. Whoever makes it to the summit, the IPL trophy will have gone to a new home by the end of the match.

Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad both have intense captains in Virat Kohli and David Warner respectively. Who wants it more? — Photos: Special Arrangement, PTI, K.V.S. Giri

There was rain in the Chinnaswamy stadium last evening. Skies are clear but there is still a slight chance of rain.

At the halfway stage of the competition, RCB was second from bottom on the table, having lost five of seven games. A spot in the play-offs seemed beyond reach. Yet three weeks later, Virat Kohli’s men became the first team to enter the final, having put together a run of seven wins in eight matches.

A rejuvenated Bhuvneshwar Kumar, custodian of the IPL’s Purple Cap (23 wickets), and Mustafizur Rahman have been instrumental in Sunrisers’ progress to the final. The Bangladesh bowler missed the Qualifier victory over Gujarat Lions with what Warner described as a ‘slight’ hamstring injury; should he not feature in the final, it will represent a major blow. A great deal depends on Warner, but Shikhar Dhawan and Yuvraj Singh have made useful contributions too.

RCB has the advantage of playing at home and has now had four days to recover from its exertions in the Qualifier. In contrast, the final will be Sunrisers’ third game in the space of five days. But in David Warner, the team has a determined leader in raging form.

Read Shreedutta Chidananda’s match preview in more detail.

Keywords: IPL, Indian Premier League, Final, IPL Final, IPL 2016 Final, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, RCB, SRH, RCB vs SRH, Bengaluru, Virat Kohli, David Warner, AB de Villiers, ABD, Chris Gayle, Mustafizur Rahman, the Fizz, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Yuvraj Singh, Shane Watson, Yuzvendra Chahal