Sarbananda Sonowal to take oath as CM of Assam today

New Delhi(PTI):Assam Governor Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya on Monday dissolved the 13th Assam Assembly with effect from May 21 under powers conferred by the Constitution.

A government release on Monday said the Governor dissolved the House on May 20 from the afternoon of May 21 under powers conferred by Clause (2)(b) of Article 174 on advice of the Chief Minister.
BJP and its alliance partners had won 86 seats in the 126-member Assembly. The elections were held in two phases on April 4 and 11 and results declared on May 19.

The new Sarbananda Sonowal-led government will take oath in Guwahati on Tuesday in presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.