Live Results | Assembly Elections 2016: Congress trailing in both Kerala and Assam, TMC ahead in Bengal

Counting of votes underway in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala, Puducherry.


And the wait is finally over! Counting of votes in the high-stakes assembly elections in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and Puducherry have begun. The trends for these five states will be clear in next few hours.

The counting of votes will decide the fate of approximately 8,300 candidates. This includes CM Jayalalithaa and Karunandhi in Tamil Nadu, CM Oommen Chandy, CPI(M) leaders V S Achutanandan and Pinarayi Vijayan in Kerala, CM Mamata Banerjee and CPI(M) Suryakanta Mishra in West Bengal, CM Tarun Gogoi in Assam and CM contender BJP’s Sarbananda Sonowal and Himanta Biswas, and CM M Rangaswamy in Puducherry.

Results | Kerala | West Bengal | Tamil Nadu | Assam | Puducherry

What Exit Polls Say
According to various exit polls, Assam, Tamil Nadu and Kerala appeared to have voted for change giving BJP its first government in the northeastern state dislodging Congress which may also lose Kerala. DMK has been tipped to regain power trouncing AIADMK in Tamil Nadu.

Only West Bengal appeared to have re-electing Trinamool Congress led by CM Mamata Banerjee. The Congress could take solace from its projected victory in the tiny Union Territory of Puducherry where it is likely to get power in alliance with the DMK.

Follow latest updates
09:15 AM

In the prestigious Dibrugarh seat in upper Assam, BJP’s Prasanta Phukan is ahead against its Congress rival Chandan Komal Baruah. In Jagiroad, BJP’s Pijush Hazarika is leading than any other rival

In the ongoing counting in 41 seats, BJP is leading in 28 seats and its allies BPF in 2 and AGP-4. Congress leading in 14 seats and AIUDF
in 5 seat.

09:12 AM

West Bengal:

Former test player Laxmi Ratan Shukla ahead. He is fighting in a TMC ticket.

CPM candidate Rabin Deb ahead in Singur.

BJP candidate Locket Chatterjee ahead from Mayureshwar. 3 BJP candidates ahead so far.

Senior CPIM leader Surja Kanta Mishra ahead from Narayangarh.

09:11 AM

Kerala: CM Oommen Chandy leading from Puthupally constituency by 2019 votes.

09:11 AM

TamilNaduElection: Jayalailithaa leads in RK Nagar constituency seat (Tamil Nadu) by 1906 votes.

09:10 AM
West Bengal:

TMC lead in West Bengal has crossed 100. It looks like a pretty formidable lead now. TMC ahead in 109, Cong- Left alliance in 55 and BJP in 3 seats.

08:43 AM
West Bengal

Sarada scam tainted Madan Mitra is currently ahead. Actress Debasree Ray fighting in TMC candidate is also ahead.

Ex Kolkata Mayor TMC candidate Subrata Mukherjee ahead from Ballyguange.

08:34 AM

KeralaElections: #LDF leading in 22 seats, #UDF in 23 seats and #NDA opens it account with a lead in Kottayam.

08:27 AM

KeralaElections: Latest trends – LDF leading in 18 seats, UDF in 7, others 1, NDA still to open it’s account.

08:24 AM

KeralaElections – First trends: LDF leading in 7 seats, UDF in 3 seats

08:19 AM
Tamil Nadu – Early trends: DMK leading in Orathanadu Thanjavur.

08:12 AM
Postal ballots: #TMC leading in four seats #WestBengal

08:04 AM
Tamil Nadu: Postal ballots being opened in a counting centre in Chennai.

07:54 AM
Strong room being opened in Thiruvananthapuram, counting to begin shortly.

07:46 AM
Assam: Exit polls were wrong, we will get 30 to 40 seats. I am confident. Like Bihar, BJP will only celebrate for first two hours, after that when picture gets clear we will celebrate, says Badruddin Ajmal, AIUDF

07:45 AM
We were discharging our duties, if someone criticized us then its their outlook: Nasim Zaidi,CEC on Mamata Banerjee