Uttarakhand floor test on May 10; Cong. rebels can’t vote

NEW DELHI:The Supreme Court on Friday ordered floor test to be conducted in the Uttarakhand Assembly on May 10 for deposed Congress Chief Minister Harish Rawat to prove his majority.

The Uttarakhand Assembly in Dehradun.

The floor test will be conducted between 11 a.m.and 1 p.m. on May 10 in the Assembly.

A bench of Justices Dipak Misra and Shiva Kirti Singh ordered the vote of confidence motion to be conducted by division of votes in the Assembly.

During the floor test, those who are in favour of confidence motion will sit to one side and those against will sit on the other side. They will then, on the Speaker calling the name of MLA, will show their hand and their position will be recorded.

The apex court directed the Principal Secretary, Legislative Assembly, to be responsible for the conduct of the floor test in a fair, transparent and peaceful manner inside the House. The State Chief Secretary and the Director General of Police will be responsible for the safety of the MLAs and the House’s security outside the Assembly.

The Bench ordered that President’s rule be lifted between 10.30 a.m. and 1 p.m. on May 10 to pave the way for the floor test.

The court did not give any relief to the nine dissident Congress MLAs and said they will not be allowed to vote on May 10 as proceedings under Schedule 10 of the Constitution for defection is still pending against them.

The results of the floor test will be produced before the Bench on May 11 at 10.30 a.m. by the Principal Secretary, Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly, in a sealed cover.

The President’s rule will be back in operation immediately after the floor test is done at 1 p.m.

The Governor will be in charge of the governance of the State during the time of the floor test.