Swamy, Sidhu, Swapan Dasgupta and Mary Kom nominated to Rajya Sabha by the Centre

NEW DELHI: BJP leader Subramanian Swamy, ex-cricketer and commentator Navjot Singh Sidhu, journalist Swapan Dasgupta, economist Narendra Jadhav, actor Suresh Gopi and pugilist Mary Kom habe been officially nominated to Rajya Sabha by the Centre.

Earlier according to media reports, the party had decided on these six names. They were undecided on the seventh. Quoting sources, Hindustan Times reported, “For the seventh name, the government is split between actor Anupam Kher and journalist Rajat Sharma.”
Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi has already been confirmed for the nomination. Speaking to the media in Kerala, the actor had stated that just because his name has been included in the list, it does not mean it is a political move. “The first priority would be to save the rivers in Kerala and that he would start his work from Thiruvananthapuram,” he said.


On government’s advice, the nominated members are recommended by the President from fields like literature, science, sports, art and social service. The term of 12 outgoing members ended on April 9. The BJP has 48 members in the upper house while the Congress has 66. A total of 74 Rajya Sabha members will be retiring in 2016.

I thank PTs for the consistent support through the last two years. As MP I will get the most important forum speaking on nation;s issues