PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti sworn in as Jammu and Kashmir’s first woman Chief Minister

Srinagar: PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti was sworn as the first woman Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir on Monday morning.

Governor N N Vohra administered oath of office and secrecy to 56-year-old Mehbooba, who became the 13th Chief Minister of the state, along with 16 Cabinet Ministers and eight Minister of States.

Mehbooba, who is PDP Lok Sabha MP from Anantnag seat, have six month within which she will have to contest election and win as MLA or MLC.

She is likely to contest from Anantnag assembly seat which fell vacant after the death of her father Mufti Mohammed Sayeed on January seven.

There is likely to be no change in the portfolios worked out by the two parties last year. Under the agreement, portfolios like Home, Finance, Revenue, Law and Justice and Education will remain with the PDP while BJP will keep Health, Urban Development, Power, Commerce and Industries and Public Health Engineering.

Mehbooba became the country’s second woman Muslim Chief Minister after Syeda Anwara Taimur who became Assam’s CM on December 6, 1980 and continued in office till June 30, 1981.

(With PTI inputs)

11:18 AM

BJP leader Nirmal Singh sworn in by Governor NN Vohra at Raj Bhawan


11:17 AM

Jammu: BJP MLA Bali Bhagat takes oath as a minister in J&K government.


11:13 AM

Mehbooba Mufti sworn in as Jammu & Kashmir’s first woman chief minister.


11:13 AM

PDP leader Ghulam Nabi Lone takes oath as Minister of state, by Governor NN Vohra