A rewind of ICC World T20 championships

The attention that the sixth Twenty20 World Championship is commanding is a testament to how far the T20 format has come since it was introduced by the ICC amid strong protests from Test players and fans. The Twenty20 format has weathered many a storm and has won the hearts of cricket lovers, much like its elder cousin, the one-dayer.

The captains of the previous five editions: M.S. Dhoni (2007), Younis Khan (2009), Darren Sammy (2012), Paul Collingwood (2010) and Lasith Malinga (2014) with the trophies.

Twenty20 is the shortest format of cricket yet, quite fittingly, the gap between the world championships is only two years. However, the next world cup in Australia will be only after four years. The ICC has accorded international status to all Twenty20 matches.

The first tournament, held in South Africa in 2007, saw India lift the cup defeating arch rival Pakistan. As the tournament comes to India this year, no team has won the event twice.

The victorious teams are

2007: India

2009: Pakistan

2010: England

2012: West Indies

2014: Sri Lanka