Home / Regional / Padma awards 2016 declared: Anupam Kher, Rajinikanth, Vinod Rai, Sania Mirza honoured among others

Padma awards 2016 declared: Anupam Kher, Rajinikanth, Vinod Rai, Sania Mirza honoured among others

New Delhi: The winners of the Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri awards for the year 2016 have been announced by the government on Monday. The awards are conferred in three categories – Padma Bhushan, Padma Vibhushan and Padma Shri.
Actor Anupam Kher, Singer Udit Narayan, sculptor Ram Sutar, Former CAG Vinod Rai and theatre personality Heisnam Kanhailal have also been selected for the Padma Bhushan.

Former US Ambassador to India Robert D Blackwill, sportspersons Saina Nehwal and Sania Mirza and Indu Jain of Bennett, Coleman & Co are the other names decided for the Padma Bhushan

Happy, Humbled & Honoured to share that i have been awarded The PADMA BHUSHAN by the Govt. of India. Greatest news of my life:)

The honour will also be awarded to Barjinder Singh Hamdard, Swami Tejomayananda, Professor NS Ramanuja Tatacharya and Professor D Nageshwar Reddy.
Anupam Kher tweeted his pleasure at having been conferred the Padma Bhushan.

Meanwhile, superstar Rajinikanth will be conferred the Padma Vibhushan. Yamini Krishnamurthi, Girija Devi, Ramoji Rao, Art of Living guru Sri Sri Ravi Shankar and Dr Viswanathan Shanta are the other Padma Vibhushan winners.
The Padma Vibhushan has also been posthumously conferred upon Dhirubhai Ambani.
Senior lawyer Ujjwal Nikam, actors Ajay Devgn and Priyanka Chopra will be awarded the Padma Shri this year.
The awards seek to recognise work of distinction and are given for distinguished and exceptional achievements, service in all fields of activities, disciplines such as art, literature and education, sports, medicine, social work, science and engineering, public affairs, civil service, trade and industry.
Nominations are sent in a prescribed proforma available in the website of the Home Ministry along with citation (maximum in 800 words). All persons, except government servants, without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards.
It is the usual practice to invite nominations every year from all state governments, Union territories, ministries, departments of the central government. Nominations can be made by Union ministers, Chief Ministers, Governors and Members of Parliament. A self nomination is also acceptable.
The nominations are placed before the Padma Awards Committee, constituted by the Prime Minister every year.
Nominations may be sent to the Union Home Minister or Union Home Secretary to their offices in North Block in New Delhi.

Check Also

Trinamool Congress’ core meet today: Panchayat polls, BJP on Mamata Banerjee’s agenda

KOLKATA: After touring three districts, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee would return to Kolkata …

Congress workers march to EC to protest PM Modi’s roadshow after casting his vote

Voting is underway in the second and final phase of the Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017. …