Home / Nation / Amit Shah re-elected as BJP President; party veterans skip event

Amit Shah re-elected as BJP President; party veterans skip event

New Delhi: BJP leaders LK Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi and Yashwant Sinha were absent at the BJP headquarters where Amit Shah had come to file his nominations to be re-elected as Party President on Sunday.

All other top BJP ministers and leaders were present at the party headquarters. PM Modi, Rajnath Singh, JP Nadda, MA Naqvi,Venkaiah Naidu and chief ministers of all BJP ruled states were proposers Amit Shah’s nomination for BJP President. The veteran leaders gave the event a miss.

BJP President Amit Shah was re-elected and started a new term from Sunday, he was elected unopposed to the top party post. His current term ended on Saturday and the new term will be his first full-term lasting three years. Shah’s election is virtually a formality, party sources said.

Seen as a close confidante of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Shah was put at the helm midway during his predecessor Rajnath Singh’s tenure after Singh joined the government in May 2014. Almost all BJP chief ministers, besides a number of union ministers, are likely to be in attendance tomorrow when Shah files his nomination papers and is expected to declared as the party chief. Modi is hosting a dinner for Shah and his team, including vice presidents, general secretaries and secretaries, tonight.
Under Shah’s stewardship, BJP scaled new heights by coming to power in Maharashtra, Haryana, Jharkhand and Jammu and Kashmir but the quite a bit of the sheen was taken off by its massive back-to-back defeats in Delhi and Bihar assembly elections, triggering some rumblings in the party.
However, party sources have insisted that his “energetic and focused” leadership has strengthened the organisation by pushing its membership across the country and expanding its reach in Assam, Kerala and West Bengal where BJP had never been a force to reckon with.
The party president’s election in BJP is normally unopposed. Last time, senior party leader Yashwant Sinha had expressed his willingness to contest but later decided against it.
with ANI