From Kohli to Dhoni: BCCI reveals ‘real’ salaries of every IPL player

The Shashank Manohar led BCCI regimen might have been able to bring some transparency to the affairs of the Board but there still remains some ambiguity regarding the salaries of the Indian Premier League (IPL) players.

Chennai Super Kings

The Board on Friday revealed the actual contract amounts of the retained players and it has been found that players like Virat Kohli whose price tag was Rs 12.5 cr is in actual terms paid Rs 15 cr by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). Which means at the auction the buying capacity of RCB is reduced by Rs 12 cr only, but after that they have to shell out the extra amount to Kohli.

Likewise Keiron Pollard’s price tag or purse deduction is Rs 9.5 cr while he gets Rs 9.7 cr and Lasith Malinga gets Rs 8.1 cr in spite of his price tag being Rs 7.5 cr. Harbhajan Singh may only have Rs 5.5 cr against his name as the price but but he receives a mammoth Rs 8 cr from Mumbai Indians.

The problem with this kind of salary arrangement is that during the auctions teams like RCB get the advantage because if Rs 12.5 cr is deducted from their purse for Virat Kohli instead of Rs 15 cr, they get the chance of spending the extra Rs 2.5 cr on other players.

Also there is no information about the mode by which the extra money is being paid to the player/players in question. If that is not found out then there is no point revealing the salaries of the players as it would be like bunking a tough mission midway and coming back.

Related Read: IPL 2016 Players’ Draft Updates: Dhoni to Pune; Raina to Rajkot

Incidentally there are players in the list like Steven Smith who was bought by the Pune franchise for Rs 5.5 cr but his actual contract with Rajasthan Royals was for Rs 4 cr, so he will get that amount only from his new owners. In the same way Ravindra Jadeja was snapped up by Rajkot for Rs 9.5 cr but as his contract with the now dissolved Chennai Super Kings was for Rs 5.5 cr, so he will have to be satisfied with that sum only. Brendon McCullum was virtually bought for Rs 7.5 cr by the Bansal group but they will only shell out Rs 3.25 cr to him.

So as the situation stands, the purse for Pune and Rajkot got reduced considerably in the IPL players’ draft held in December, 2015. So for example, Pune’s buying power got reduced by Rs 5.5 cr where it should have been reduced by Rs 4 cr. So now the franchise won’t be even able to spend that deficit of Rs 1.5 cr. The silver lining for the teams who are in reality paying less than the price tag is that there actual pockets will have more money which they can spend in their business purpose.

However, there are players like Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, (both Rs 12.5 cr), Ravichandran Ashwin (Rs 7.5 cr) whose purse deduction and actual salary is the same and there is no room for doubt. The BCCI thus need to go a long way in clarifying each and every detail of the medium in which the players are paid their IPL salaries. Having said that, since the start of the tournament, this is the first time that the contracts of the cricketers are revealed, which will go along way in removing the stains of corruption from the scam tainted league.

Here is the full list of salaries of the retained players

Sl. No. IPL Team Player Purse Deduction (INR) Actual Salary (INR)

  1. KXIP David Miller 125,000,000.00 50,000,000.00
  2. KXIP Manan Vohra 40,000,000.00 3,500,000.00
  3. KKR Gautam Gambhir 125,000,000.00 100,000,000.00
  4. KKR Sunil Narine 95,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
  5. MI Rohit Sharma 125,000,000.00 115,000,002.00
  6. MI Keiron Pollard 95,000,000.00 97,000,000.00
  7. MI Lasith Malinga 75,000,000.00 81,000,000.00
  8. MI Harbhajan Singh 55,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
  9. MI Ambati Rayudu 40,000,000.00 60,000,000.00
  10. RCB Virat Kohli 125,000,000.00 150,000,000.00
  11. RCB AB de Villers 95,000,000.00 95,000,000.00
  12. RCB Chris Gayle 75,000,000.00 84,000,000.00
  13. SRH Shikhar Dhawan 125,000,000.00 125,000,000.00
  14. Pune M S Dhoni 125,000,000.00 125,000,000.00
  15. Pune Ajinkya Rahane 95,000,000.00 80,000,000.00
  16. Pune Ravichandran Ashwin 75,000,000.00 75,000,000.00
  17. Pune Steven Smith 55,000,000.00 40,000,000.00
  18. Pune Faf du Plessis 40,000,000.00 47,500,000.00
  19. Rajkot Suresh Raina 125,000,000.00 95,000,000.00
  20. Rajkot Ravindra Jadeja 95,000,000.00 55,000,000.00
  21. Rajkot Brendon McCullum 75,000,000.00 32,500,000.00
  22. Rajkot James Faulkner 55,000,000.00 51,000,000.00
  23. Rajkot Dwayne Bravo 40,000,000.00 40,000,000.00