Home / Regional / Assam CM Tarun Gogoi has announced 15 new sub divisions on occasion of New Year

Assam CM Tarun Gogoi has announced 15 new sub divisions on occasion of New Year

Guwahati,Shazida Khatun: Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi today extended his greetings and best wishes to the people of Assam on the occasion of New Year.

CM Tarun Gogoi greets people on occasion of New Year

The chief minister Tarun Gogoi has announced 15 new sub divisions in the state as it was committal on the demand for the creation of sub-divisions in the state.Our Kalgachia is among the list of 15 new sub division and other declared new subdivisions are Sorbhog, Mukalmuwa,Moran, Saurukhetri,Tihu, Howraghat,Ramkrishnanagar , Bihuporia, Patharikandi,Nahorkatiya, Katigarah etc.

Different organisations across the state are asking the government to create 55 new sub-divisions for better governance. According to norms in Assam, there should be a minimum population of 10 lakh to create a district and at least four lakh for a sub-division. Where the minimum population required for a hill district is two lakh.

Check Also

80 Arrested In Udaipur For Supporting Killer Shambhu Lal Who Killed Daily Wager In Video

JAIPUR: Prohibitory orders preventing the gathering of large groups are still in force in Rajasthan’s …

Trinamool Congress’ core meet today: Panchayat polls, BJP on Mamata Banerjee’s agenda

KOLKATA: After touring three districts, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee would return to Kolkata …

One comment

  1. Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi today announced the setting up of development councils for several communities in the state, including Brahmins, Kalitas Jolhas and Karbis to ensure their all-round socio-economic development.
    “The economic condition of several communities which had earlier enjoyed social prestige and status has gone down in recent years and the state government has decided to address the issue by setting up development councils for them,” he told reporters during a New Year interaction.
    These communities include Brahmins, Kalita and Jolhas, Gogoi said.
    Ads by ZINC

    The state government will also set up Bodo Kachari Autonomous Council for Bodo Kachari people living outside Bodoland Territorial Council areas along with development councils for Karbi people living outside Karbi Anglong.
    It will also establish a development council for person with disabilities, the Chief Minister said.
    He also announced the creation of 15 new civil sub-divisions in Bihpuriya-Narayanpur, Naharkatiya, Ramkrishna Nagar, Howraghat, Diyungbra, Dakhin Kamrup, Mukalmua, Kalgachia, Moran, Patharkandi, Katigorah, Merapani, Tihu, Sarukhetri and Sorbhog.
    He said five revenue circles of Sonapur, Dispur, Guwahati, Azara and Chandrapur in Kamrup (Metro) district will be upgraded to civil sub-divisions. PTI