Home / Sports World / BCCI player contract: MS Dhoni retains Grade A spot, Suresh Raina demoted to category B

BCCI player contract: MS Dhoni retains Grade A spot, Suresh Raina demoted to category B

Indian limited-overs captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was today retained in Group A of the men’s player contracts for 2015-16 by the BCCI.

MS Dhoni

The other players who were included in the top-level contract worth Rupees one crore per annum, were Test captain Virat Kohli, leading off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and batsman Ajinkya Rahane, who has been upgraded from Group B. Slipping down to B category, worth Rs 50 lakh annually, was batsman Suresh Raina, whose name was inadvertently omitted on the BCCI’s website before the Board issued a clarification.

Senior off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, who was not in the contracted player-list last season, gained a spot in Grade C after being recalled to the Indian squad by the national selectors. As compared to 2014-15, when 32 players were given contracts, only 26 got the nod for this season. For the first time, the BCCI offered contracts to women players, splitting them into two groups A and B worth Rs 15 and 10 lakh annually respectively and eleven players made the grade.

If a player, who is not in the list of contracted players, plays a minimum of three matches Test/ODI/T20I, he or she will be added in Grade ‘C’/Grade ‘B’, respectively, the BCCI announced. The list of contracted players:

Senior men:
Grade A (4) (Rs One Crore): Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ajinkya Rahane (4) Grade B (10) (Rs 50 lakhs): Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Mohammad Shami, Suresh Raina Grade C (12) (Rs 25 lakhs): Amit Mishra, Axar Patel, Stuart Binny, Wriddhiman Saha, Mohit Sharma, Varun Aaron, Karn Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Lokesh Rahul, Dhawal Kulkarni, Harbhajan Singh, Sreenath Arvind.

Senior women:

Grade A (4) (Rs 15 lakhs): Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur, MD Thirushkamini.
Grade B (7) (Rs 10 lakhs): Smriti Mandana, Rajeswari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bist, Veda Krishnamurthy, Niranjana Nagarajan, Poonam Raut.

Check Also

Michael Irvin Rips Cowboys Fans Cheering Carson Wentz Injury Because of His Old Injury

The Philadelphia Eagles were in the midst of a great season as they faced off …

FCS playoffs 2017: Bracket, schedule, start times for semifinals

The semifinals are finally here, and James Madison is one game away from playing in …