Home / Editorial / Genesis of the Bihar election 2015 and political parties previous performance

Genesis of the Bihar election 2015 and political parties previous performance

Patna,Anamica Nair: The grand alliance emerged victorious in the Bihar Assembly polls with the people yet again reposing their faith in Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar despite an aggressive campaigning by Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the BJP-led NDA. RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav scripted a spectacular comeback after multiple setbacks in the last few elections with the party winning in 80 seats.

Narendra Modi
Aggressive campaigning for the Bihar Elections was led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi this year.

In the 2010 Bihar Assembly polls, where JD(U)-BJP alliance won the elections, JD(U) had scored 115 seats out of the 141 contested seats. BJP won 91 out of 102 contested seats. This year, the battle was between Modi and Nitish as JD(U) was in alliance with former competitor RJD. BJP, who suffered a massive defeat in these elections, won 53 seats out of 159. JD(U) won 71 seats out of a 101 seats.

The strike rate of JD(U) in 2010 was 81.5%, and this year it managed to get 70%. For BJP the strike rate then was 89.2%, while this year it is paltry 33.3%.

In the previous assembly elections, RJD won 22 of the 168 contested seats, thus bringing their strike rate to 13.10%. But this time, RJD broke all past records and got the most number of seats. Out of the 101 contested seats, they won 80. The strike rate is 79%, which shows that RJD performed extremely well as compared to the poor performance they put up in the last Assembly elections.

In 2010, Congress aimed for an ambitious 243 seats out of which they won only 4 seats; strike rate was as low as 1%. But this time around, Congress seems to have pulled up its socks, and has won 27 out of 41 contested seats. This brings their strike rate to 65.8%.

Not only BJP, parties in alliance with it also put up a poor show too. LJP whose strike rate in 2010 was 4%, only made nominal progress that of 1%. This time out of 40 contested seats, they won only 2.

Newbie Hindustani Awam Morcha, led by former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi, won only one of the two seats he contested and lost in all the 19 others it fought in.

On single-party basis, however, the BJP managed a face-saver with a vote share of nearly 24.8 % — higher than individual shares of 18.5 % for the RJD and 16.7 % of the JD-U.

Check Also

Union cabinet clears Triple Talaq bill, 3 years jail proposed for offenders

NEW DELHI: The Union Cabinet on Friday cleared the Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on …

WPI inflation reaches 8-month high of 3.93% in November

The country’s annual wholesale price inflation expanded in November to an eight-month high. The hike …