Home / Regional / Trinamool Congress’ clean sweep in civic polls

Trinamool Congress’ clean sweep in civic polls

Kolkata: The Trinamool Congress on Saturday trounced the Left Front in three municipal poll results amid allegations of widespread rigging and terror.

Mamata Banerjee

In the eastern fringes of Kolkata, the Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation registered an emphatic win for the green brigade and dealt a severe blow to the Left Front’s bid to come back to political competitiveness with Mamata Banerjee and her party. The ruling party won 37 seats of the total 41 seats in Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation. Two seats each were won by the Left Front and the Congress.

However, the opposition parties smelt a rat and said that the Trinamool Congress’ victory was nothing but an abuse of power by the administrative machinery to muffle the recently revived Left Front morale.

“This is not a reflection of the people mandate rather an evidence of the electoral malpractices indulged in by the ruling party,” said Asim Dasgupta, mayoral candidate of the Left Front, who lost among other Left candidates.

The Trinamool Congress leadership rubbished allegations saying that the developmental activities were giving good results and that the opposition parties have no popular support as a result of which are crying foul.

“The civil society and people at large have reposed their faith on Trinamool in the civic polls. People have democratically rejected the politics of disruption, violence and bandhs. They have voted for development. People have witnessed widespread development in the last four years. Support for Mamata Banerjee is surging,” said Partha Chatterjee, secretary general, Trinamool Congress.

In Bally, it was a clean sweep by Trinamool Congress winning all the 16 seats. Bally was a Left fortress till few years back, but they could not bag any seats in the polls.

The scene at Asansol was no different. Trinamool Congress came out with a winning streak after bagging 75 seats out of 106.

Check Also

Uttar Pradesh: 15 BJP members booked for allegedly manhandling BSP corporator Musharraf Husain

An FIR on Saturday was registered against 15 unidentified BJP members for allegedly manhandling BSP …

Coal scam: Ex-Jharkhand CM Madhu Koda sentenced to 3-year imprisonment

NEW DELHI: A special court on Saturday sentenced former Jharkhand Chief Minister Madhu Koda and …