Tamil Nadu bypoll result: Jayalalithaa wins RK Nagar seat by over 1.5 lakh votes

Chennai(PTI): Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa won the R.K. Nagar by-polls by over 1.5 lakh votes on Tuesday.

Jayalalithaa secured 1,60,921 votes and CPI’s C Mahendran managed to get only 9,669 votes.

Meanwhile, all the other candidates contesting the by-polls lost their deposit.

Main opposition parties– DMK, DMDK, Congress, BJP and PMK — have boycotted the bypoll.

During her campaign on June 22 at RK Nagar, Jayalalithaa had not only sought a massive victory for her party, but insisted that it should be a ‘precursor’ to the next Assembly polls.

The by-election was necessitated following AIADMK’s P Vetrivel vacating the seat in May, apparently to enable Jayalalithaa seek re-election.

Jayalalithaa returned to the top post on May 23 after being acquitted in the disproportionate assets case by the Karnataka High Court.

Posted by on June 30, 2015. Filed under Regional. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.