Sharad Pawar retains presidency of Mumbai Cricket Association

Mumbai(PTI): Sharad Pawar has retained his post as president of Mumbai Cricket Association in a contest against out going vice president Vijay Patil on Wednesday.

Pawar has emerged victorious winning the elections by 172 votes as opposed to 145 for Vijay Patil. Sharad Pawar and Vijay Patil were the only contenders for the top post.

Former Indian captain Dilip Vengsarkar and Ashish Shelar of BJP (Pawar group) were elected vice president. Nitin Dalal was elected treasurer and for two posts of joint secretary, Dr PV Shetty of Pawar group and Dr Unmesh Khanvilkar of Patil group were elected.

NCP chief Sharad Pawar has been MCA president for the last 14 years.

Posted by on June 17, 2015. Filed under Sports World. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.