Meghalaya deputy speaker quits ahead of floor test against speaker

Shillong(NERVE):  Meghalaya Deputy Speaker and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) legislator Sanbor Shullai on Monday resigned from his post, two days before a crucial no-confidence motion against Speaker Abu Taher Mondal.

Shullai’s resignation was announced by the speaker on the floor of the house.

I have resigned from the post on personal ground and my resignation has no connection with the no-confidence motion against the speaker. There was no pressure neither from the MUA government nor the chief minister, Shullai told journalists.

The combined opposition Meghalaya People’s Front and the Hill State People’s Democratic Party has moved a no-confidence motion against Mondal, alleging that he had not allotted sufficient time for the members to take up relevant issues in the assembly.

Mondal had fixed March 25, which is also the last day of the budget session of the assembly, for discussion after 12 opposition legislators stood up to fill the required quorum to take up the motion.

With the sudden resignation of Shullai, the speaker is expected to ask one of the four legislators empanelled as chairman to conduct the session during the no-confidence motion against him.

I have not decided which of the four legislators empanelled as chairman will conduct the session during the no-confidence motion against me following the resignation of Shullai, Mondal told IANS over phone.

Moreover, the speaker said that he has accepted Shullai’s resignation in accordance with the rules and procedures of conduct of business of the assembly.

Meanwhile, the former deputy speaker said that his resignation was to further strengthen the ruling Congress-led Meghalaya United Alliance (MUA) government and for the overall good of the people and the state as a whole.

Reaffirming NCP support to the ruling Congress-led Meghalaya United Alliance government, Shullai exuded confidence that the government under the leadership of Mukul Sangma would provide an effective, responsible and accountable government.

In the 60-member house (which now stands at 59 legislators, following the demise of Garo National Council legislator Clifford R. Marak), the Congress-led Meghalaya United Alliance has 29 Congress members. It is supported by two Nationalist Congress Party legislators and 11 independents.

The opposition Meghalaya Peoples Front is made up of eight United Democratic Party legislators, two from the National Peoples Party, two independents and four from the Hill State People’s Democratic Party.

Posted by on March 23, 2015. Filed under State. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.