Jammu & Kashmir assembly election results: In a four way fight PDP holds key to next government, BJP’s surge halted

SriNagar(PTI): Counting of votes in Jammu and Kashmir for 87 seats, which witnessed a record turnout in the multi-cornered contests to elect their assemblies began on Tuesday morning amid tight security arrangement.

According to latest leads, PDP holds the key to form the next government. Meanwhile, BJP’s surge has been halted as it remained ahead only on 24 seats. Congress is leading on 12 seats and National Conference is down to 11 seats. Other parties are leading on 5 seats.

The five-phase election, which saw 66% voting – the highest turnout after 1987 despite boycott calls by separatists and militants, will be a litmus test as much for BJP, which is making its first serious foray in Jammu and Kashmir to form a government, as for Congress, which will be hoping to stay relevant in the state politics following the massive rout in Lok Sabha polls earlier this year.

Chief Minister Omar Abdullah, who led NC’s bid to retain power, and Opposition PDP’s chief ministerial candidate Mufti Mohammad Sayeed are among the 821 candidates.

Also read: Live: Jharkhand assembly election results

Latest Updates

Latest leads: Jammu and Kashmir: PDP 30 | BJP 24 | Congress 15 | JKNC 12 | Others 5

11:29 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Will prefer to sit in opposition, says Sajjad Gani Lone

With the prospect of a hung assembly looming large, former separatist Sajjad Gani Lone on Tuesday remained non-committal on supporting any party for government formation in Jammu and Kashmir and said he would prefer to sit in the opposition. Read more

11:28 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Will form government in both the states: Home Minister Rajnath Singh

11:00 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad: We would never go with BJP, as for PDP and National Conference, we have had alliance with them in the past too, lets see what happens.

10:43 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Celebration begins at BJP party office in Jammu

10:12 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

  • Daleep Singh Parihar of BJP is leading over his nearest rival Mehboob Iqbal of PDP by a margin of 1401 votes in Bhaderwah constituency.
  • Ashwani Kumar of BJP is leading over Kamal Verma of NC by a margin of 2148 votes in Bishnah constituency.
  • Kuldeep Raj Dubey of BJP leading over Minister and Congress candidate Aijaz Khan by a margin of 255 votes in Gool-Arnas.
  • Rajesh Gupta of BJP is leading over Vikram Malhotra of Congress by a margin of 1631 votes in Jammu East.

BJP surge halted; National Conference and PDP catches up. Congress leading on 14 seats

9:57 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Omar Abdullah, who was trailing in Beerwah constituency is now leading. Congress’s Nazir Ahmad Khan trailing by 400+ votes

9:42 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Chief Minister Omar Abdullah trailing by over 1800 votes from PDP candidate Mohammad Ashraf Mir in Sonawar http://dnai.in/cviU

9:40 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

  • Surinder Choudhary of PDP is leading over BJP candidate Ravinder Raina by a margin of 2377 votes in Nowshera constituency.
  • Chander Prakash Ganga of BJP is leading over former Minister and NC candidate S S Slathia from Vijaypur constituency by a margin of 1989 votes.
  • Devinder Kumar Manyal of BJP is leading over former minister and JKNPP candidate Yashpal Kundal by a margin of 3369 votes in Samba constituency.

9:27 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

BJP leading on 21 seats in Jammu and Kashmir, followed by 15 seats of PDP. Neck to neck battle between BJP-PDP. Congress down with 4 seats compare to previous election.

9:12 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Leads so far

BJP’s Hina Bhat leading from Amirakadal

Jammu : BJP leading on 7 seats, Congress on 2, PDP on 1 seat.

kashmir : National Conference leading on 6 seats, Congress on 2, BJP on 1, PDP on 4 and others on 2 seats

Ladakh: BJP aand Congress on 1 seat each.

9:03 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Early leads: BJP: 8, Congress: 6, JK National Conference: 5, PDP: 3

8:56 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Chief Minister Omar Abdulla leading from Beerwah; Mufti Sayeed from Anantnag. Congress – BJP locked in close fight.

PDP and National Conference down with one seat compare to 2008 assembly polls.

8:48 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Jammu and Kashmir trends so for- BJP: 6, Congress: 3, National Conference: 2, PDP: 1

8:43 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

BJP leading on six seats in Jammu and one in Kashmir Valley. Congress holding position as of now.

8:35 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Omar Abdullah’s National Conference (NC) leading on one seat. In 2008 NC had won 28 seats

8:32 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

BJP down two seats from Lok Sabha in early trends.

8:22 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Congress and BJP takes early lead in two seats.

7:50 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Exit and opinion polls point out that both in Jharkhand, Jammuu and Kashmir BJP is doing exceedingly well, BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra

7:45 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014

7:11 IST Tuesday, 23 December 2014
While Omar contested from Beerwah seat in Budgam district and Sonawar seat in Srinagar, Sayeed is seeking re-election from Anantnag Assembly segment in the south Kashmir district.

Most of the observers will keenly watch the result of Handwara Assembly constituency in north Kashmir Kupwara district where separatist-turned mainstream politician Sajjad Gani Lone is trying his

Most political observers and opinion polls are predicting a hung Assembly in Jammu and Kashmir. There are speculations about various political parties trying to work out an alliance, depending on the numbers thrown up tomorrow.

Omar’s National Conference, which was the single-largest part in 2008 polls winning 28 seats, is facing an uphill task to retain its position.

PDP, which had 21 members in the 11th Assembly, is expecting to be the single-largest party, riding on the anti-incumbency and anger among the flood victims.

In 2008 polls, National Conference had won 28 seats, Congress 17 and PDP 21. BJP had 11, Panthers’ Party 3 and CPM had one.
Independents had bagegd six seats.

Posted by on December 23, 2014. Filed under Nation. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.