Nabam Tuki becomes the eighth Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh

Itanagar(Arunachal Pradesh), 18 May-2014, PTI: Starting his political innings as a grass root worker, Nabam Tuki reached the pinnacle of his political career for the second time as the eighth chief minister of the sensitive border state of Arunachal Pradesh.

Nabam Tuki becomes the eighth Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh

Nabam Tuki becomes the eighth Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh

Mr Tuki was first elected to the second legislative assembly in 1995 from Sagalee constituency in Papum Pare district and served as the deputy agriculture minister in the Gegong Apang ministry.

He also served as Transport and Civil Aviation minister in 1988. Earlier, he was the irrigation and flood control (IFCD) minister in 1996.

He was re-elected to the assembly in 1999 from the same constituency and became a cabinet minister with the Environment and Forest portfolio in the Mukut Mithi ministry.

He was re-elected in the 2004 and 2009 assembly elections and served as the PWD and Urban Development minister under the Apang and Khandu ministries.

Born on July 7, 1964 in remote Ompuli village in Sagalee sub-division, Mr Tuki is a graduate and has seven children, including two sons.

He belongs to the Nyishi community. He also served as state NSUI President (1983 to 1986) and was Chairman, North East NSUI Coordination Committee (1984 to 1986).

He was General Secretary, All India NSUI (1986 to 1988) and Arunachal Pradesh Youth Congress President (1988 to 1995).

Mr Tuki also served as Vice Chairman, North Eastern Youth Congress Coordination Committee (1988 to 1993) and as Working President, North Eastern Youth Congress Coordination Committee from 1993 to 1995.

An avid sports lover, Mr Tuki is also the current president of the Arunachal Cricket Association.

Earlier on November 1, 2011, Mr Tuki was sworn in as the seventh chief minister of the state succeeding Jarbom Gamlin after the internal revolt within the Congress Party with a majority of the 42 Congress legislators in the 60-member house who were opposed to Gamlin for his alleged authoritarian rule, after the death of former chief minister Dorjee Khandu in a helicopter crash on 30 April in the same year.

Posted by on May 19, 2014. Filed under Regional. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.