Hoax alert: Updating your status is unlikely to convince Mark Zuckerberg to change Facebook’s privacy settings

It’s that time of the year, when people share ‘that’ Facebook status update again when they believe the social media giants own their content. It goes something like this:

From DD/MM/YYYY Indian standard time, I don’t give Facebook permission or permission to use my pictures, my information or my publications, both of the past as the future, mine or those where I show up. By this statement, I give my notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, give, sell my information, photos or take any other action against me on the basis of this profile and / or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308-1 1 308-103 and the Rome statute).

Note: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version.

If you do not publish a statement at least once, you’ve given the tacit agreement allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the updates of state of profile.

Do not share. You have to copy.

Just like ‘Modi declared most popular PM by UNESCO’, this is another popular hoax which refuses to die down. Like Heath Ledger’s Joker in The Dark Knight, there’s no clear origin of this message and it keeps popping up time and again. For starters, Facebook isn’t claiming copyright to your personal info, nor are there any plans to do so. In 2012, Facebook had issued a statement on the his saying: “There is a rumour circulating that Facebook is making a change related to ownership of users’ information or the content they post to the site. This is false.

Anyone who uses Facebook owns and controls the content and information they post, as stated in our terms. They control how that content and information is shared. That is our policy, and it always has been. Click here to learn more: www.facebook.com/policies.”

Brad Shear, a Washington attorney and blogger who is an expert on social media had explained: “non-exclusive, transferable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any content you post. You do not need to make any declarations about copyright issues since the law already protects you. The privacy declaration [in the message being shared] is worthless and does not mean anything.”

In any case, when you sign up for Facebook you agree to their terms and conditions which can’t be negated by putting up special status message. As Facebook puts in its terms and conditions, “For content that is covered by intellectual property rights, like photos and videos (IP content), you specifically give us the following permission, subject to your privacy and application settings: you grant us a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with Facebook (IP License). This IP License ends when you delete your IP content or your account unless your content has been shared with others, and they have not deleted it.”

This means that while you own the intellectual property rights of whatever you put on the network, you also grant the social network the right to use that content in anyway they deem fit. On the other hand, if you delete your account, the right ends unless someone else has shared your content and hasn’t deleted it.

While the social network does not technically own its members content, it has the right to use anything that is not protected with Facebook’s privacy and applications settings.

For instance, photos, videos and status updates set to public are fair game. When one decides to sign up for Facebook, one agrees to their terms and conditions and posting on your FB account is not going to change that. In case you don’t agree with their T&C, your option is to delete your account or lobby them to change their policy (good luck with that).

Facebook wrote in a post: “You may have seen a post telling you to copy and paste a notice to retain control over things you share on Facebook. Don’t believe it. Our terms say clearly: You own all of the content and information you post on Facebook, and you can control how it’s shared through your privacy and application settings. That’s how it works, and this hasn’t changed.

You can visit Privacy Basics to find out more about who sees what you share on Facebookand other topics.

You can also read the Data Policy to find out what information we collect and how it is used and shared. We want you to be informed and in control of your experience on Facebook.”

Posted by on July 2, 2016. Filed under Technology. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.