Four newly discovered elements in the Periodic Table get names: Here’s what they are called

The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC), an organisation recognised as the world authority in chemical sciences has finally announced the proposed names for the newly discovered elements in the Periodic Table.

The elements 113, 115, 117 and 118 are nihonium (Nh), moscovium (Mc), tennessine (Ts) and oganesson (Og), respectively.

The new seventh row elements are all synthentic elements manufactured in a lab. In addition to not being found in nature, the elements are also highly unstable and decay into radioactive isotopes in a matter of seconds, vexing attempts by scientists over the years to recreate their production. But now that the elements’ existence have been proven, they’ll need new names as well.

Nihonium (elemental symbol Nh) is the proposed name for element-113. The element was synthesised by Kosuke Morita’s group at RIKEN in Japan. Named after Japan, the element will be the first East Asian name to appear on the periodic table if ratified.

Scientists based in Russia and the US who discovered elements 115 and 117 have put forward the names moscovium (Mc) and tennessine (Ts), respectively.

The same group has also named element-118 oganesson (Og), in honour of the Russian nuclear physicist Yuri Oganessian who led the team that synthesised element-117.

The names will now be put up for public scrutiny in a five-month consultation process before IUPAC ratify the final names.

Posted by on June 9, 2016. Filed under Science. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.