Anurag Thakur elected BCCI president

Anurag Thakur was elected the president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) during its Special General Meeting (SGM) on Sunday. Mr. Thakur’s elevation from the secretary’s to the president’s post had been virtually sealed earlier in the week. The BCCI chief’s position had to be filled following Shashank Manohar’s resignation on May 10, a day before he was appointed the International Cricket Council’s independent chairman.

Anurag Thakur arriving at Cricket Centre in Mumbai to attend the Special General Meeting. Photo: Vivek Bendre

Ajay Shirke elected Secretary

Shirke returns as a BCCI office-bearer after three years. He was elected as Board secretary. The former treasurer had resigned from his post in May 2013, protesting the manner in which N. Srinivasan’s regime had handled the IPL corruption scandal in the aftermath of the arrest of Gurunath Meiyappan, a Chennai Super Kings official and Srinivasan’s son-in-law.

Posted by on May 22, 2016. Filed under Sports World. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.