Live Updates | Assembly Elections 2016 Results: D-Day for Assam, WB, TN, Kerala, Puducherry; counting of votes to begin shortly

New Delhi:And the wait is finally over! Counting of votes in the high-stakes assembly elections in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and Puducherry will start in few minutes. The trends for these five states will be clear in next few hours.

The counting of votes will decide the fate of approximately 8,300 candidates. This includes CM Jayalalithaa and Karunandhi in Tamil Nadu, CM Oommen Chandy, CPI(M) leaders V S Achutanandan and Pinarayi Vijayan in Kerala, CM Mamata Banerjee and CPI(M) Suryakanta Mishra in West Bengal, CM Tarun Gogoi in Assam and CM contender BJP’s Sarbananda Sonowal and Himanta Biswas, and CM M Rangaswamy in Puducherry.
Also read – Live Elections Results | Kerala | West Bengal | Tamil Nadu | Assam | Puducherry
What Exit Polls Say
According to various exit polls, Assam, Tamil Nadu and Kerala appeared to have voted for change giving BJP its first government in the northeastern state dislodging Congress which may also lose Kerala. DMK has been tipped to regain power trouncing AIADMK in Tamil Nadu.
Only West Bengal appeared to have re-electing Trinamool Congress led by CM Mamata Banerjee. The Congress could take solace from its projected victory in the tiny Union Territory of Puducherry where it is likely to get power in alliance with the DMK.
With Agencies

Posted by on May 19, 2016. Filed under Regional. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.